louvre
louvre


You are here : homeTextile art

Ottoman, Safavid and Mughal textile art

In traditional Islamic society, textiles and dress played a significantly greater socio-cultural role than in the western world. A crucial item of furnishing in the Islamic world, the carpet served not merely as a floor covering but as seating and bedding as well. Carpets were used in religious settings – prayer rugs and the multi-niche prayer carpets, or safs made for mosques – but also in political settings: the monarch held official audiences in a throne room richly embellished with textiles and carpets, and sometimes outside, either beneath a dais or a kiosk with fitted rugs or less formally, seated cross-legged on a small mat. Luxury textiles in the form of robes of honor (Arabic khil’a), bolts of silk cloth and fine carpets were routinely conferred as a mark of favor and as diplomatic gifts.

A vital trading commodity

The three empires were fortunate in inheriting a thriving weaving industry implanted in the Middle East, Iran and Central Asia at strategic sites along the Silk Road. The development of the textile industry was closely allied to the silk trade with China, home to sericulture.
Silk weaving requires the intervention of a highly skilled craftsman capable of operating a drawloom. Weavers enlarged their repertoire of techniques to include damask, velvet (solid cut pile and voided) and brocades, frequently couched in metal thread. Cloth of gold exercised a particular fascination on European merchants and adventurers, among whom two Frenchmen, Jean Chardin and Jean-Baptiste Tavernier, who wrote accounts of their travels in Persia in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

The textile trade was vital to the economic health of the entire region and an important source of tax revenue to the governments concerned. The Ottomans had for centuries dominated the export trade in woolen pile rugs to Europe, but they were dependent on their political rivals for their supply of raw silk and upon India for cotton fabrics. The Iranians had since antiquity imported from India cheap cotton stuffs and cash crops, from jute, raw cotton to entire cargoes of the precious red insect dye lâc. The Persians exported luxury goods to the Indian sub-continent, but they generated insufficient foreign currency to compensate for the quantity of imports, which meant that the Safavid government ran a permanent trade deficit with India.

The fifteenth century design revolution

The fifteenth century witnessed the emergence of a new iconography in carpet design, inspired by the arts of the book: floral motifs and fantastic animals such as the dragon, the phoenix and the vaq-vaq are clearly derived from manuscript illumination. Paradise garden carpets depict idealized spring landscapes peopled with mythical creatures. The animals prancing amid foliage on Chinese silks and porcelains were however transformed into ferocious animal combats: the dragon and phoenix or feng huang (Persian simurgh or rukh), auspicious creatures in the Chinese tradition, are shown fighting. The floral repertoire underwent a similar metamorphosis: while the lotus blossom was known to Islamic artists, new complex variants of the flower (incorrectly dubbed the “palmette”) were combined with spiral tendrils and foliage.
Intense political and cultural rivalry reigned between the royal houses, which competed for the services of the artists and craftsmen or captured them as spoils of war. When the Ottomans defeated the Shah in 1514, the booty included a thousand artisans from the Khurasan and various other provinces and thirty-eight Tabrizi artists and craftsmen, three of whom were weavers. A few decades later, the great Mughal emperor welcomed into his newly founded royal workshop émigré artists from Tabriz and Herat made redundant by Shah Tahmasp.

The carpet industry during the sixteenth and seventeenth century

By the early sixteenth century, carpet weaving had evolved into a highly complex and sophisticated craft. The weaving of intricate floral and figured carpets required the competence of a master craftsman, accustomed to handling the delicate fibers which permit a more compact weave and thus more intricate patterns. This included not only silk, but the wool from the Angora goat used by the Ottomans and the pashmina goat hair preferred by Mughal weavers. The tasks involved in the execution of court carpets evolved into two separate skills: the court artist on the one hand and the master weaver on the other, although a single individual sometimes cumulated both professions.

By the time the first Safavid shah acceded to the throne in 1501, carpetmaking was a well-developed industry in Iran. Important centers were located in Tabriz, Isfahan, Kashan, Yazd, Hamadan (former Susa), Kirman, Jawshaqan and Mashhad; Amul specialized in prayer rugs; Fasa, Darabjird and Kirkub in tapestry weaves. Iranian carpet art reached a rare degree of perfection during the reign of Shah Tahmasp. A pupil of Bihzad and Sultan Muhammad, the shah is recorded as being versed in the art of calligraphy and carpet design as well. Hunting scenes and episodes from the classics of Persian literature proved to be a fertile source of inspiration for pictorial designs on carpets and textiles alike. Religious and poetic inscriptions appear as a decorative motif. Poetry in the nasta’liq script, generally contained within repeating cartouches, frequently decorates the borders of so-called Salting rugs. Weavers sign their work more often than in the past.

The Anatolian Turks benefited from a long-established tradition of carpet-weaving. Important weaving centers such as the one in Konya, where the Lotto rug was probably made, remained active after the Ottoman capture of Istanbul. An imperial carpet weaving guild, the cemaat-i kaliçe bafan-i hassa is documented from the reign of Murad I (1451-1481). From this time, floral carpets in the saz style were woven in Turkey, either in Bursa, or more probably in Istanbul. The term “saz” is used to describe a pictorial and decorative style introduced by the painter Sahkulu around 1530, mixing feathery leaves with hatayi lotus flowers. The saz style is also detectable in certain Safavid carpets.

The Mughal carpet repertoire reflects the Iranian style, albeit more naturalistically interpreted. During the reigns of Shah Jahangir (1605-1627) and Shah Jahan (1627-1657), an indigenous floral style emerged which coexisted with the Persianate style. Indian artists excelled at naturalistic interpretations of nature. The Mughal floral style was also indebted to Europe, particularly the drawings of plants introduced by foreign visitors to the court. Similar in quality to velvet, the carpets made with pashmina goat hair in Lahore and Kashmir, like the shawls for which the latter city was justly famous, rank with the most aesthetically and technically accomplished weavings made anywhere.

Luxury fabrics for the court

Ottoman and Mughal weavings have often been confused with the Safavid examples; although this is still true of certain Safavid and Mughal pieces, recent research has shed light on the aesthetic and technical criteria proper to Ottoman textiles.

Most prized was the cloth of gold and silver (taqueté, Turkish serâser), made for the royal household. Among other grades of luxury silk fabrics were plain satin (atlas), lampas weave couched in metallic thread (kemha), plain velvet (kadife) and voided velvet couched in metal thread (çatma). Silk weaving centers were situated in metropolitan areas dotting the caravan route leading south to the major trading centers of Aleppo, Baghdad and Damascus, and later in Ottoman dominions in the Aegean and Tunisia. Istanbul was reputed for its embroideries and for brocaded silks produced in the imperial manufactory, while Bursa principally made fabrics for trade. The decorative repertoire refers more to abstract motifs such as the çintemani, variants on calligraphic script in addition to a wide range of floral patterns. The mid-sixteenth century corresponds to the emergence of the saz style. Kara Memi, inventor of the so-called “four flowers style”, incorporated artful arrangements of hyacinth sprigs, carnations, sprays of plum blossom and tulips, a flower indigenous to Anatolia, into meandering stem or ogival layouts.
Shah ‘Abbas I (1587-1629) initiated a series of reforms aimed at revolutionizing the textile industry. The shah made the production of silk into a royal monopoly and reorganized the imperial manufactories, or karkhaneh, which were encouraged to develop and diversify and export surplus. As a means of circumventing Ottoman hostility to Shia’ merchants, the shah forcibly displaced the Armenian community of Julfa to his new capital in Isfahan and having granted them the status of protected minority (dhimmi), charged them with transporting Persian merchandise overland to Europe. He also sought to subvert the power of Portuguese and Venetian traders by allowing two rival companies, the British East India Company and the Dutch East India Company (VOC) to establish trading posts on Iranian soil, and by creating his own seaport, Bandar Abbas, on the Strait of Hormuz.

Pictorial textiles reflect new fashions at ‘Abbas’ court, characterized by the swaying figures of young women or plump male courtiers, identical to contemporary miniatures and ceramics. Rows of flowering plants or bushes with hovering butterflies or home to various species of birds, in particular the nightingale, are among favored new fabric layouts.

In addition to trade relations, the Persians maintained close diplomatic and intellectual ties with the Indian sub-continent. In 1549, artists from Tabriz and Herat integrated Emperor Humayun’s art academy. At the instigation of his successor, Akbar the Great (1556-1605) textile manufactories were founded in the emperor’s new capital at Fatehpur Sikri, Agra, Lahore and Ahmedabad, with the aid of Persian weavers. Predictably, therefore, Mughal designers took their cue from the Persian Islamic repertoire. Indian textiles and carpets are sometimes so close aesthetically to their Safavid prototypes that a trained eye is required to distinguish them. Embassies were also exchanged with the Ottoman Empire, and indeed the brocaded velvets of Bursa are recorded as being among Akbar’s most prized possessions. Even so, the influence of Ottoman art on Mughal textiles is less overt than that of their near neighbors.
The fall of Isfahan in 1722 and the collapse of the Safavid dynasty in 1736 ushered in a period of anarchy. The skilled weavers and metal thread artisans died of starvation with the rest of the populace during the siege of the capital, taking their closely-guarded secrets with them.


The 'Mantes' Carpet Front half of a caftan
MAO 1205
© RMN / Berizzi
The The "Mantes" Carpet
OA 6610
© RMN / DR, RMN / Blot
Medallion carpet Medallion carpet
MAO 959
© RMN / Lewandowski , 72, 74, 76, 78, 82, 84, 86
Kilim with historiated scenes Kilim with historiated scenes
OA 5946
© RMN / Chuzeville 87-000927

louvre
louvre


Vous êtes ici: AccueilL’art du textile

L’art du textile des empires ottoman, safavide et moghol

Textiles et vêtements, dans la société traditionnelle islamique, ont une forte signification socio-culturelle. Le tapis, élément mobilier central, est utilisé non seulement pour couvrir les sols, mais aussi pour s’asseoir et se coucher. Il a un usage religieux (petits tapis de prière et safs, grands tapis de prière à plusieurs niches, fabriqués pour les mosquées) et un usage politique : tissus et tapis décorent richement la  salle du trône où le monarque donne ses audiences officielles ; lorsque cette cérémonie a lieu à l’extérieur, le monarque reçoit sous un dais ou sous un kiosque au sol couvert de tapis, ou de façon moins formelle, assis en tailleur sur un petit tapis. Les tissus de luxe dans lesquels sont réalisées les robes d’honneur (en arabe khil’a), les lés de soie façonné et les tapis somptueux sont offerts comme des marques de faveur ou comme cadeaux diplomatiques.

Un produit commercial vital

Les trois empires ont eu la chance d’hériter d’une industrie du tissage florissante implantée au Moyen-Orient, en Iran et en Asie Centrale, à des endroits stratégiques de la Route de la Soie.
Le développement de l’industrie du textile est intimement lié au commerce de la soie avec la Chine, pays de la sériciculture ; la soie est tissée sur un métier à la tire et nécessite le concours d’artisans hautement qualifiés capable d’exécuter les étoffes complexes que sont le damas, les brocarts et les velours façonnés, souvent brochés de fils métalliques. Les étoffes d’or exercent une fascination particulière sur les marchands et les aventuriers européens comme on peut le lire dans les récits de voyages en Perse au XVIIe siècle des deux Français, Jean Chardin et Jean-Baptiste Tavernier.

Le commerce du textile est d’une importance cruciale pour l’économie et les impôts prélevés représentent une importante source de revenus pour les gouvernements concernés. Les Ottomans dominent depuis des siècles l’exportation commerciale de tapis de laine vers l’Europe, mais ils dépendent de leurs rivaux politiques pour l’approvisionnement en soie naturelle et de l’Inde pour les cotonnades. Depuis l’antiquité, les Iraniens importent d’Inde des toiles peu coûteuses et des produits de culture d’exportation comme le jute, le coton ou même des cargaisons entières de lâc (teinture rouge obtenue à partir d’insectes, similaire à la cochenille) ; les Perses exportent des produits de luxe vers le sous-continent indien, mais cela ne suffit pas à compenser l’importation massive de produits. Par conséquent, la balance commerciale du gouvernement safavide par rapport à l’Inde est en déficit permanent.

La révolution stylistique du XVe siècle

Au XVe siècle, apparaît une nouvelle iconographie dans les tapis, issue des arts du livre : les motifs de fleurs et d’animaux fantastiques (dragon, phénix, waq-waq, …) proviennent de la miniature et de l’enluminure. Les tapis au jardin de paradis représentent des paysages printaniers idéalisés, peuplés de créatures mythiques : cependant, les scènes d’animaux gambadant au milieu des feuillages sur les soieries et les porcelaines chinoises se transforment en de farouches combats d’animaux ; le dragon et le phénix ou feng huang (en persan simurgh ou rukh), qui chez les Chinois sont des symboles de bonne augure, sont représentés en train de combattre ; le répertoire floral connaît une métamorphose comparable : la fleur de lotus, déjà connue des artistes islamiques, est réinventée dans de nouvelles variantes complexes (appelées à tort « palmette »), associées à des rinceaux d’arabesques et à du feuillage.
D’intenses rivalités politiques et culturelles opposent les dynasties royales qui se disputent les services des artistes et des artisans ou les capturent comme butin de guerre pendant. A titre d’exemple, lorsque les Ottomans vainquent le Shah en 1514, le butin de guerre compte un millier d’artisans du Khurasan et d’autres provinces, ainsi que trente-huit artistes et artisans de Tabriz, dont trois tisserands ; quelques décennies plus tard, le grand empereur moghol accueille dans l’atelier royal qu’il vient de fonder, des artistes émigrés venus de Tabriz et d’Herat et que le Shah Tahmasp avait congédiés.

L’industrie du tapis aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles

Dès le début du XVIe siècle, le tissage des tapis est devenu un artisanat complexe et raffiné ; les motifs floraux et figuratifs sont d’une telle complexité et réalisés avec des fils d’une telle finesse qu’ils ne peuvent être l’œuvre que d’artisans et de tisserands au summum de leur art. Cela concerne non seulement la soie, mais aussi la laine des chèvres angora utilisée par les Ottomans et le poil de chèvre pashmina des tisserands moghols. Deux types de compétences distinctes apparaissent : l’artiste de cour et le maître tisserand, même s’il arrive qu’une personne cumule ces deux états.

Lorsque le premier shah safavide accède au trône en 1501, l’art du tapis est déjà une industrie bien développée en Iran avec des centres importants à Tabriz, Ispahan, Kashan, Yazd, Hamadan, Kirman, Jawshaqan et Mashhad ; Amul a pour spécialité les tapis de prières, Fasa, Darabjird et Kirkub, la tapisserie. L’art des tapis iraniens atteint un degré de perfection exceptionnel sous le règne de Shah Tahmasp (1524-1576), disciple de Bihzad et du sultan Mohammed, homme versé dans les arts de la calligraphie et du tapis. Les dessins figuratifs sur les tapis et les tissus trouvent leur source d’inspiration dans les scènes de chasse et au travers des épisodes des grands classiques de la littérature persane. Les inscriptions religieuses et poétiques font leur apparition ; la bordure des tapis dit Salting est souvent décorée inscriptions poétiques en style nasta’liq, incluses dans des motifs de cartouches répétés. Les tisserands signent plus souvent leur œuvre que par le passé.

Les Turcs d’Anatolie jouissent d’une tradition bien établie de tissage de tapis ; des centres importants comme celui de Konya, sont restés actifs après la conquête d’Istanbul par les Ottomans. A partir du règne de Murad I (1451-1481), on trouve mention d’une guilde impériale des tisserands de tapis, le cemaat-ı kalıçe bafan-ı hassa. A partir de cette époque, les tapis floraux de style saz, sont tissés en Turquie, soit à Bursa, soit plus probablement à Istanbul. Le terme « saz » désigne un style pictural et décoratif essentiellement végétal, développé par le peintre Shah Quli vers 1530, dont les éléments récurrents sont les feuilles dentelées associés à la fleur de lotus dite hatayi. Les composants de ce style sont également reconnaissables dans certains tapis safavides.

Le répertoire iconographique des tapis moghols s’inspire du style iranien, en l’interprétant d’une manière plus naturaliste. Sous Shah Jâhângir (1605-1627) et Shah Jahan (1627-1657), on assiste à la naissance d’un style floral local, qui co-existe avec le style persan. Les artistes indiens excellent dans la représentation naturaliste de la nature. Le style floral moghol puise aussi son inspiration en Europe, notamment avec les planches d’herbiers introduites par des visiteurs étrangers. D’une qualité comparable au velours, les tapis faits de poils de chèvre pashmina à Lahore et à Cachemire, tout comme les châles qui ont fait à juste titre la renommée de cette dernière ville, comptent parmi les tissages les plus achevés tant sur le plan esthétique que technique.

Des tissus de luxe pour la cour

Les tissages ottomans et moghols ont souvent été confondus avec les exemples safavides ; des critères esthétiques et techniques caractérisent les textiles ottomans même si la confusion persiste pour certaines pièces safavides et mogholes.

Le tissu ottoman le plus prisé est l’étoffe d’or et d’argent (taqueté; en turc serâser), fabriquée pour la maison royale ; d’autres étoffes de soie de luxe sont appréciées : le satin (atlas), le lampas broché de fils métalliques (kemha), le velours (kadife) et le velours relevé coupé broché de fils métalliques (çatma). Les centres de tissage de la soie sont situés dans des zones urbaines le long de la route caravanière qui mène aux centres d’échanges commerciaux au sud : Alep, Baghdad et Damas et plus tard jusqu’aux territoires ottomans autour de la mer Egée et en Tunisie. Istanbul est réputée pour ses broderies et ses soieries brochées produites dans les manufactures impériales, alors que Bursa fabrique surtout des tissus destinés à la vente. Le répertoire ornemental fait appel à des motifs abstraits comme le çintemani, des variantes de styles calligraphiques auxquels s’ajoute une grande variété de motifs floraux.
Au milieu du XVIe siècle, le style saz fait son apparition. Kara Memi à qui l’on doit l’invention du style dit « des quatre fleurs », joue sur des arrangements savants de brins de jacinthes, d’œillets, de fleurs de prunier et de tulipes, fleur indigène d’Anatolie qu’il intègre dans des compositions de tiges sinueuses ou de motifs d’ogives.

Shah ‘Abbas I (1587-1629) est l’instigateur d’une série de réformes dont l’objectif est de révolutionner l’industrie textile. La production de soie devient un monopole royal ; il réorganise les manufactures impériales, les karkhaneh, en les encourageant à se développer, à se diversifier et à exporter leurs excédents. Pour écarter l’hostilité des Ottomans vis-à-vis des marchands shiites, le Shah déporte la communauté arménienne de Julfa dans sa nouvelle capitale Ispahan, lui donnant le statut de minorité protégée (dhimmi) ; il lui confie le transport des marchandises persanes par voie terrestre jusqu’en Europe. Il cherche à contourner la puissance des marchands portugais et vénitiens en permettant à deux compagnies rivales, la British East India Company et la Compagnie hollandaise des Indes de l’Est (VOK) d’établir des comptoirs sur le territoire iranien, et en créant son propre port maritime, Bandar Abbas, sur le détroit d’Ormuz.

Les tissus façonnés reflètent la nouvelle mode de la cour de ‘Abbas, avec de gracieuses figures féminines et des personnages de courtisans replets, qu’on retrouve à l’identique sur des miniatures et des céramiques contemporaines ; des rangées de plantes fleuries ou de buissons au-dessus desquels voltigent des papillons ou abritant différentes espèces d’oiseaux, en particulier le rossignol, sont parmi les nouveaux motifs les plus utilisés.

Outre les relations commerciales, les Perses entretiennent des liens diplomatiques et intellectuels privilégiés avec le sous-continent indien. En 1549, des artistes venus de Tabriz et d’Herat rejoignent l’académie des arts de l’empereur Humayun. Son successeur Akbar le Grand (1556-1605) préside à la fondation de manufactures de tissu dans sa nouvelle capitale à Fatehpur Sikri, à Agra, Lahore, et Ahmedabad, avec l’aide de tisserands perses. Les artistes moghols empruntent largement au répertoire islamique persan. L’esthétique des tissus et tapis indiens est parfois si proche de celle de leurs prototypes safavides que seul un œil expert peut les différencier. En revanche, l’influence de l’art ottoman est moins sensible même s’il existe des échanges d’ambassades avec la Sublime porte ; les velours brochés de Bursa sont mentionnés parmi les possessions les plus précieuses d’Akbar.
La chute d’Ispahan en 1722, suivie de celle de la dynastie safavide en 1736, marque le début d’une période d’anarchie. Les tisserands qualifiés et les artisans qui maîtrisent la technique du fil métallique meurent de faim avec le reste de la population lors du siège de la capitale, et les secrets qu’ils gardaient jalousement disparaissent avec eux.


Tapis dit 'de Mantes' Devant de caftan
MAO 1205
© RMN / Berizzi
Tapis dit "de Mantes" Tapis dit "de Mantes"
OA 6610
© RMN / DR, RMN / Blot
Tapis à décor de médaillons Tapis à décor de médaillons
MAO 959
© RMN / Lewandowski , 72, 74, 76, 78, 82, 84, 86
Kilim aux scènes historiées Kilim aux scènes historiées
OA 5946
© RMN / Chuzeville 87-000927