louvre
louvre


You are here : homeHardstones, gems and ivory

Hardstones, gems and ivory in Mughal India

Hardstone marquetry is a long-standing local tradition. The refined technique of inlay, which the Persian and Mughal chroniclers refer to as parchîn kârî, and which was brought to an almost unbelievable peak of excellence by the imperial stoneworkers during the reign of Shah Jahan, consisted of setting in marble or sandstone thin sections of hard or semi-hard stones that had been cut with the greatest of care and fashioned in the shape of tendrils and floral arabesques. The Frenchman François Bernier , who lived in India between 1656 and 1668, describes the mausoleum built by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan (1628-1658) for his wife Mumtâz Mahal, in a letter dated 1663 to Monsieur de La Mothe Le Vayer: he speaks with great enthusiasm of the mausoleum’s perfect architecture and of its opulent interior decoration, floral motifs in white marble inlaid with jade, jasper and other sorts of precious stones.
The hardstones used in the decoration of the Taj Mahal, as well as in palaces and imperial buildings all over India and in the surrounding regions, included yellow amber from Burma, lapis-lazuli from Afghanistan, nephrite from Chinese Turkestan, and carnelian, agate, amethyst, jasper, green beryl, chalcedony, onyx and coral from the different regions of the huge Indian sub-continent.

At the Mughal court precious and semi-precious stones were also used to highlight imperial tableware, writing desks, mirrors, huqqa, weapons, royal saddles and even gold and silver gem-studded thrones. Rock-crystal and jade, hardstones which could only be worked with diamond dust, were particularly appreciated at the Mughal court. Objects fashioned in the second half of the seventeenth century by Mughal ateliers or karkhâna from jade – or to be more precise from the nephrite and jadeite imported from Kashgar and from Khotan – such as boxes and pen boxes, huqqa stands and mouthpieces, dagger hilts and archer’s thumb rings, bowls and cups, are particularly remarkable for their delicate inlays of precious stones, predominantly emeralds, diamonds, rubies and spinels, set in gold and forming stylized floral motifs. Jade was thought to contain talismanic virtues such as the power of prolonging life – and indeed even that of ensuring immortality; it was also considered to favor success on the battlefield – hence its name of “stone of victory”. It was therefore considered the most appropriate material for the manufacture of ornate arms symbolizing victory. The hilts of these ornate weapons which were only used for ceremonial purposes were often carved in the shape of the head of a horse, a ram, an antelope, a lion or a falcon, always with a quite remarkable and moving expressivity. This repertoire of animal motifs is known to have existed as early as the second half of the reign of Jahangir, and became particularly important under the emperor Shah Jahan.

Ivory carving was an important craft in ancient India. It was to be equally appreciated at the Mughal court, where it was used in the making and ornamentation of chests and caskets, as well as dagger hilts, flasks and powder horns. The latter were given a lively, zoomorphic décor, in which different birds and animals were intermingled – elephants, lions, monkeys, buffaloes, rams, antelopes and hares, as well as composite and imaginary animals. Hunt scenes predominate in these exuberant animal scenes, derived from the iconographic repertoire of Mughal miniatures. Similar scenes also appear in the décor of late sixteenth and early seventeenth century Mughal carpets. Some of the ivory powder horns were clearly gilded and embellished with colors, and the eyes of the animals were occasionally encrusted with amber and precious or semi-precious stones.

The floral and plant motifs predominate in the decorative repertoire of Mughal India. The combination of the naturalistic yet subtly stylized treatment of Mughal flowers, together with their balanced and symmetrical arrangement, is emblematic of Mughal taste in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, when the floral motif became a leitmotiv that permeated all the arts of the court (textiles and decorative arts, arts of the book) and even architecture. This fascination with the floral motif can be traced back to the reign of the Emperor Jahangir. It originated during a journey made by Jahangir in 1620 to Kashmir, a country where the emperor was enchanted by the variety and profusion of the flowers which grew there, and which he was subsequently wont to describe as “a garden where spring reigns eternally”. During this trip the monarch was accompanied by one of the great masters of the imperial atelier of painting, the animal painter Ustâd Mansűr Nâdir al’Asr, who, at the request of the sovereign, executed more than a hundred flower studies, of which only three precious examples still survive. This poetic delight in the exuberant blossoming flowers of Kashmir was reinforced by the discovery of European herbals brought to the Mughal court by Jesuit missionaries and agents of the East India Company.

The herbals were to exert considerable influence on Mughal flower painting, on the precision with which they were drawn, on the extreme care taken with the representation of botanical details, and on the presence of butterflies and dragonflies fluttering above the corollas and leaves, which Mughal artists, who were familiar with Persian works, often replaced with small meandrous-shaped Chinese clouds (t’chi), which were considered in China to be the vehicles of the gods, and which became a decorative motif in Persian art. As so pertinently noted by M. L. Swietochowski, the regular arrangement of flowers and bouquets in the margins of Mughal miniatures is reminiscent of the ornamentation of a number of Books of Hours from the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, and perhaps even more so of the borders of Flemish engravings on religious subjects.


Chest Chest
MAO 2039
© RMN / Berizzi
Mirror Mirror
R. 451
© RMN / Blot
Foot-rest in pietra dura Foot-rest in pietra dura
MAO 769
© RMN / Berizzi
Priming powder horn Priming powder horn
MAO 716
© RMN / Berizzi
Powder horns Powder horns
R. 437
© RMN / Berizzi
Cabinet with floral design Cabinet with floral design
MAO 1188
© Musée du Louvre / C. Tabbagh
Window screen (jali), floral and lattice design Window screen (jali), floral and lattice design
MAO 2045
© Musée du Louvre / H. Bréjat

louvre
louvre


Vous êtes ici: AccueilPierres dures, gemmes et ivoire

Pierres dures, gemmes et ivoire en Inde moghole

La marqueterie de pierres dures est une tradition locale ancienne. Cette technique raffinée que les chroniqueurs perses et moghols désignent par parchîn kârî, atteint l’excellence sous le règne de Shah Jahan avec des incrustations dans le marbre ou le grès de minces sections de pierres dures ou semi-dures en forme de lianes et d’arabesques florales. Dans les années 1656-1668, le français François Vernier lors de son voyage en Inde décrit dans une lettre qu’il adresse à M. de La Mothe Le Vayer en 1663 le mausolée construit par l’empereur Shah Jahan pour sa femme Mumtâz Mahal ; il évoque la perfection de l’architecture et l’opulence des décors floraux de marbre blanc incrusté de jade, de jaspe et autres pierres précieuses.
Parmi ces pierres dures utilisées pour le décor du Taj Mahal, mais aussi dans des palais et bâtiments impériaux en Inde et dans les régions voisines, on trouve de l’ambre jaune birman, du lapis-lazuli afghan, de la néphrite provenant du Turkestan chinois, de la cornaline, de l’agate, de l’améthyste, du jaspe, du béryl vert, de la calcédoine, de l’onyx et du corail en provenance des différentes régions de l’immense sous-continent indien.

Les pierres précieuses et semi-précieuses ornent également la vaisselle impériale, les écritoires, les miroirs, les huqqas, les armes, les selles royales et même des trônes d’or et d’argent. Le cristal de roche est particulièrement prisé mais aussi le jade. Ces matériaux très durs sont taillés à la poudre de diamant. Boîtes et plumiers, pieds et embouchures de huqqa, manches de dagues, bagues d’archers, bols et coupes fabriqués dans la seconde moitié du XVIIe siècle dans des ateliers moghols (karkhâna) en jade, ou plus exactement en néphrite et jadéite importées des villes de Kashgar et de Khotan, sont incrustés de pierres précieuses, principalement des émeraudes, des diamants, des rubis et des spinelles, enchâssées dans de l’or pour composer des motifs floraux stylisés. On prêtait au jade de nombreuses vertus : il prolongeait la vie voire apportait l’immortalité ; il favorisait les victoires militaires (d’où son nom de « pierre de victoire »). Le jade était considéré comme le matériau le plus approprié pour fabriquer des armes comme par exemple les poignée d’armes d’apparat utilisées uniquement lors de cérémonies, sculptées en forme de tête de cheval, de bélier, d’antilope, de lion ou de faucon, toujours d’une expressivité remarquable. Ce répertoire de motifs animaliers est attesté dès la seconde moitié du règne de Jahangir, et prend une importance particulière sous l’empereur Shah Jahan.

Le travail de l’ivoire est une tradition qui remonte à l’antiquité. A l’époque moghole, il est utilisé pour la structure et le décor de coffres et de coffrets, ainsi que pour des poignées de dagues, des flasques et des cornes à poudre ; celles-ci portent un décor zoomorphe très vivant qui mêle différents oiseaux et animaux (éléphants, lions, singes, buffles, béliers, antilopes et lièvres), mais aussi des bêtes hybrides et imaginaires ; ces scènes animalières exubérantes sont principalement des scènes de chasse empruntées au répertoire iconographique des miniatures mogholes, décor que l’on retrouve également sur les tapis moghols de la fin du XVIe siècle-début du XVIIe siècle. Certaines cornes à poudre en ivoire étaient visiblement dorées et colorées, et les yeux des animaux étaient parfois incrustés d’ambre et de pierres précieuses ou semi-précieuses.

Les plantes et de fleurs prédominent dans le répertoire décoratif de l’Inde moghole. Le traitement naturaliste quoique subtilement stylisé des fleurs, ainsi que l’équilibre et la symétrie de la composition, sont emblématiques du goût moghol aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, période où le motif floral devient un leitmotiv qui imprègne tous les arts de la cour (arts du textile, les arts décoratifs, les arts du livre, architecture). La fascination pour les motifs floraux remonte au règne de l’empereur Jahangir qui lors d’un voyage de Jahangir au Cachemire en 1620 découvre avec ravissement la variété et la profusion de la flore locale, qu’il prend par la suite l’habitude de décrire en ces termes : « un jardin où le printemps règne éternellement » ; pendant ce voyage, le monarque s’est fait accompagner de l’un des plus grands maîtres de l’atelier impérial de peinture, le peintre animalier Ustâd Mansûr Nâdir al’Asr, qui réalisa à la demande du souverain plus d’une centaine d’études de fleurs, dont seuls trois précieux exemples sont encore conservés. Ce ravissement poétique devant la flore luxuriante du Cachemire est renforcé par la découverte d’herbiers européens, apportés à la cour moghole par des missionnaires jésuites et des agents de l’East India Company.

L’influence des herbiers européens sur la peinture florale moghole est sensible dans la précision du dessin, dans le souci des détails botaniques, et dans la présence de papillons et de libellules voletant au-dessus des corolles et des feuillages. Cependant les artistes moghols, qui connaissaient les œuvres persanes, remplaçaient souvent ces insectes par de petits nuages chinois contournés (t’chi), que l’on considère en Chine comme les véhicules des dieux, et dont l’art perse a fait un motif décoratif. Comme le souligne si justement M. L. Swietochowski, la disposition régulière des fleurs et des bouquets en marge des miniatures mogholes rappelle le décor de certains Livres d’heures des XIVe et XVe siècles, et plus encore les bordures de gravures religieuses flamandes.


Coffret Coffret
MAO 2039
© RMN / Berizzi
Miroir Miroir
R. 451
© RMN / Blot
Support Support
MAO 769
© RMN / Berizzi
Corne à pulvérin Corne à pulvérin
MAO 716
© RMN / Berizzi
Corne à poudre Corne à poudre
R. 437
© RMN / Berizzi
Coffret à décor floral Coffret à décor floral
MAO 1188
© Musée du Louvre / C. Tabbagh
Ecran de fenêtre (jali) à décor de treillis et de fleurs Ecran de fenêtre (jali) à décor de treillis et de fleurs
MAO 2045
© Musée du Louvre / H. Bréjat