louvre
louvre


You are here : homeHardstones, gems and ivoryPriming powder horn

Priming powder horn

India, 17th century
Carved elephant ivory, metal attachment
L. 21 cm; Diam. (max.) 7.3 cm
Musée du Louvre, DAI, acquired 1984
MAO 716

Muskets were introduced to India during the sixteenth century by the Europeans. These long-barrel shoulder guns could only fire one shot then had to be reloaded. Horns such as this one were used to store the gunpowder needed to propel the bullets.
In Iran this type of object was invariably shaped like a horn, as were certain examples made in India. However, a number of Indian “horns” – generally made of ivory and decorated with motifs of animals associated with hunting – were given the shape of a fish, and sometimes more precisely that of a makara, the sea monster of Hindu mythology. Although the Louvre horn does not have the S-shape which would have made its identification as a makara much surer, the central swelling indicates that it belongs to the same category. All these horns can be dated to the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
The body of the receptacle is decorated with animals of various species. One end of the horn is decorated with an intertwined group of animals that is more confused and in sharper relief than the group on the receptacle. The accumulation of different animals on this object, which itself is shaped like an animal, is reminiscent of certain miniatures dating from the same period, in which a big quadruped is composed from a number of different animal motifs.

Priming powder horn
Priming powder horn
MAO 716
© RMN / Berizzi

louvre
louvre


Vous êtes ici: AccueilPierres dures, gemmes et ivoireCorne à pulvérin

Corne à pulvérin

Inde, XVIIe siècle
Ivoire d’éléphant sculpté, monture métallique
L. : 21 cm ; D. max. : 7,3 cm
Musée du Louvre, D.A.I., acquis en 1984, inv. MAO 716

Les mousquets sont introduits en Inde au cours du XVIe siècle par les Européens. Ce sont des fusils à long, voire très long canon. Ces mousquets ne tirent qu'un coup ; la balle est propulsée à l'extérieur du canon sous l'effet de l'explosion d'une poudre (pulvérin) à laquelle on met le feu. C'est à la conservation de cette poudre que sont destinées les cornes de ce type.
En Iran, ce type d'objet reprend invariablement la forme d'une corne, comme certains exemples réalisés en Inde ; toutefois, un certain nombre de cornes fabriquées en Inde, généralement en ivoire décoré de motifs d'animaux associés à la chasse, prennent la forme d'un poisson, et parfois plus précisément celle d'un makara, monstre marin de la mythologie hindoue. Bien que cet objet n’adopte pas la forme en S caractéristique des cornes inspirées par ce monstre, son renflement central l’apparente à cette catégorie.Toutes ces cornes sont datées des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.
Le décor est composé d'animaux d'espèces différentes posés les uns à côté des autres. À l'une des extrémités de l'objet, ils donnent parfois l'impression d'être issus les uns des autres. Cet entremêlement des corps puise ses origines à la fois en Inde et en Iran et rappelle certaines miniatures de la même période où les animaux composites sont réalisés à partir d’une imbrication de plusieurs autres animaux

Corne à pulvérin
Corne à pulvérin
MAO 716
© RMN / Berizzi