louvre
louvre


You are here : homeIntroduction to the collections

Between the Musée du Louvre and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs: two prestigious collections for the three modern Islamic Empires

Textiles and carpets: apogee of the decorative arts

The Musée des Arts Décoratifs collection is particularly well-provided with textiles: more than four hundred pieces, the vast majority of which are Ottoman pieces. The textile collection was begun by Jules Maciet (1846-1911) who in 1884 donated two Ottoman cushion covers. The Musée des Arts Décoratifs rapidly undertook a purchasing policy: at the Dupont-Auberville sale in 1885, at the Goupil sale in 1881, and perhaps more surprisingly, in 1878 objects were purchased from one of the big Parisian department stores, the Bon Marché. The beginning of the twentieth century saw the acquisition by Jules Maciet of the famous Safavid lampas signed by the naqshband Ghiyath, as well as the donations by the art dealer Dikran Khan Kélékian in 1903 and again in 1907 – the same year that the collector Octave Homberg donated an ensemble of thirteen pieces.
As for the Louvre collections, the first rug – a small sixteenth century kilim illustrating episodes from the story of Leyla and Majnum – was not acquired until 1904. In 1912 the Louvre made the important acquisition of a big Safavid carpet from the Collegiate Church of Mantes. In 1914 the rare and highly prestigious silk carpet attributed to Kashan, which had been previously owned by Joanny Peytel, entered the Louvre. In the 1980s, several good quality pieces were added to the collections.

Ottoman ceramics and the development of the “Turkish taste”

Put together, the collections of Ottoman ceramic tiles and vessels now in the Louvre and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs form an absolutely breathtaking ensemble.
The first donation of Ottoman ceramics made in 1856 – a dish with a “four flowers style” decor – came from the Sauvageot Collection. In 1909, following the Charles Piet-Lataudrie bequest, the Louvre was able to exhibit a number of extremely fine pieces, such as a blue and white dish with epigraphic decoration, two tankards, and a quite remarkable bowl decorated with carnations on an entirely red slip. Prestigious pieces continued to enrich the Louvre collections in the twentieth century, beginning with the donation in 1912 of two major pieces from the collection of the Baron Delort de Gléon, which were exhibited in the Louvre in 1922. A number of very fine pieces entered the Louvre in the 1960s and 1970s, thanks to the bequest by Claudius Côte, a collector from Lyon, and the donation by the Parisian art dealer Jean Soustiel.
The final prize piece of the collection of Ottoman ceramics is the superb dish (sahan) with saz decoration acquired by the Louvre in 1994. It belonged successively to the prestigious Kelekian, Macy and Gutnayer Collections, and is one of the great masterpieces of the art of Ottoman ornamentalists.
Very fine Ottoman “pieces” were purchased by the Musée des Arts Décoratifs from the art dealer Beshiktash in 1889 and 1894: a Baba Nakkas bowl and a blue and white dish with geometric decoration. Along with a very fine bottle offered in 1903 these were the most important acquisitions before the entry of a splendid collection of vessels and numerous tiles assembled by the Whitneys and bequeathed in 1932.

Paris, hub of the art market

During the last decades of the nineteenth century, Paris became the nerve center of the art market for objects from the East. Many art dealers were also donators: Dikran Kelekian (1868-1951), the Indoudjian brothers, Raoul Duseigneur (1845-1916), Clotilde Duffeuty, Léonce Rosenberg (1877-1947), Charles Vignier (1863-1934) and many others. Among the most distinguished donors to both the Louvre and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs we should mention in particular Gaston Migeon, and Raymond Koechlin (1860-1931), a curator at the Louvre and Vice-President of the Board of Directors of the Union Centrale des Arts Décoratifs.
The latter was to acquire the most famous of all dishes made at Iznik, the celebrated peacock dish. He first saw this masterpiece of Ottoman ceramics in a shop window in the Rue de Constantinople (sic) in the Europe quarter of Paris, but as he had to leave Paris urgently, he asked a friend to buy the piece for him.
On his return, he discovered that his friend had not purchased the dish – and that the magnificent piece had disappeared. When he finally traced it to London it was in the hands of an art dealer who quickly sensed how much his client wanted the piece and only let it go on condition that Koechlin buy a number of other pieces as well. The dish finally entered the Louvre in 1932 as part of the Raymond Koechlin bequest.
In 1932, the Musée des Arts Décoratifs collections were enormously enriched by the Whitney bequest mentioned above, a collection of pieces from the last centuries of the Islamic empires, among which thirty-eight Ottoman vessels, a considerable ensemble of tiles, and a vast number of Iranian pieces then known under the generic name of Kubachi.

The reign of Iran: Maiolica and miniatures from Persia

The Louvre collection of “Persian miniatures” is largely due to the magnificent bequest by Georges Marteau: ninety-one of the 103 works from this bequest are Iranian and Mughal paintings and drawings. Georges Marteau was an eminent collector and connoisseur of the arts of the book, who, with Henri Vever, organized the first exhibition of Islamic arts of the book in Paris. A number of major works was recently added to the collection, in particular six Ottoman pages, of which three are from the Siyar-i Nabi (Turkey, 1594-95), as well as a prestigious posthumous portrait of Mustafa II painted by Levni – a work the Louvre was able to obtain thanks to the generous patronage of the Sabanci Foundation. The portrait of Shah Abbas I painted by Muhammad Qasim in 1627, the only portrait made during the Shah’s lifetime, entered the Louvre in 1975. In all, after 1916, the Louvre collections were augmented by a hundred or so pieces, including the eleven paintings and drawings of the Koechlin bequest (1932).
The collection of the arts of the book began as early as 1882 at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, when Maciet acquired a number of Mughal pages. It was in 1887 that a famous page from the Timurid anthology of the first third of the fifteenth century was purchased, which illustrates the meeting between Humay and Humayun. In the same year a superb page from an unidentified work in Persian and a page attributed to Reza-e Abbasi were purchased from the art dealer De la Narde. Four high quality album pages of the Bukhara School were offered by Gaston Migeon in 1930. At the Sevadjian sale in 1960, three pages were bought, including one representing a bird by the painter Sheykh Abbasi, the son of Reza. The Musée des Arts Décoratifs also has a small but excellent collection of book-bindings, some of which are still associated with their original manuscripts. Several formed part of the bequest made in 1914 by Piet-Lataudrie.
The Musée des Arts Décoratifs showed particular interest in sixteenth and seventeenth century pieces, but few acquisitions were made except for such objects as a luster bottle over a lavender blue glaze bought in 1894 from Beshiktash, and several objects purchased in 1895 from Beurdeley, notably a bowl decorated with carnations. The Union Centrale made several excellent purchases at Paris sales in the 1890s. A number of important donations completed these acquisitions: the Filippo gift in 1908 (Iranian tiles), and most important of all, the gift made in 1905 by Raymond Koechlin of a unique piece, a large dish decorated with a rosette. Finally the Whitney bequest brought to the Louvre a large number of pieces of similar type, known at the time as Kubachi wares.
Whereas both private collectors and museums centered all their attention on Ottoman ceramics – incorrectly known at the time as “ceramics from Rhodes” – Safavid ceramics were somewhat less favored and acquisitions at the Louvre were spaced over a number of years. In 1893, the antique dealer Clotilde Duffeuty donated the first Safavid ceramic vessels; in the same year the museum acquired one of the most beautiful luster bottles of the collection, depicting humped cattle in a landscape. A small group of mainly monochrome and luster pieces was acquired between 1893 and 1895, and then between 1895 and 1930 about ten very beautiful pieces were added. The massive purchase in 1981 of eighteen Iranian ceramic wares filled an important gap and radically changed the Safavid collections of the Louvre.

Mughal India

Mughal India, one of the great modern Islamic Empires, occupies but a tiny place in the Louvre collections which in no way reflects the remarkable artistic production of the Indian sub-continent of the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries.
The core of the collection is a fine ensemble of paintings and drawings acquired in two major ways. Some were seized during the Napoleonic conquests and originally formed part of the Musée Napoléon collections. These include eighty-one pages of varying quality – mainly eighteenth century pages, with several from provincial Indian schools. Others come from the Georges Marteau bequest – an ensemble of forty Mughal pages of calligraphy, paintings and drawings of quite exceptional quality. One example is the celebrated portrait of Jahangir holding the portrait of his deceased father Akbar, painted by two great Mughal artists. It was moreover in 1893 that the Louvre acquired the first pages of Mughal “miniatures” from Clotilde Duffeuty.
To complete the picture, we need to mention a fine collection of arms and armor, which still remains little known and for the most part unpublished. The first Mughal arms entered the Louvre in 1903 with the donation by Raymond Koechlin; in 1922 a number of pieces from various bequests were added, and finally there was the bequest of the Baroness Salomon de Rothschild, which included pieces of armor.
The Rothschild collections also comprises an ensemble of inlaid gems, one of the favorite types of objects commissioned by Mughal patrons, notably an ensemble of thirteen precious objects, including powder horns and bowls, mirrors and trays.
Over the last few years we have tried to restore India to the place it rightfully owns in the panorama of the last Islamic empires. For this reason acquisitions have been concentrated in the areas of architectural decoration, ivory, and ceramics.
The quest for the perfect collection is never-ending, never totally achieved. Since the 1980s the Louvre has taken every opportunity to acquire those objects which were almost totally absent from its collections: Indian bidri, Ottoman metalwares – still far too rare – and book-bindings.

louvre
louvre


Vous êtes ici: AccueilPrésentation

Entre Louvre et Arts décoratifs : les collections des trois empires modernes de l’Islam

Textiles et tapis : un apogée décoratif

Dans les collections des Arts décoratifs, le textile tient une place considérable, plus de quatre cents pièces dont la plupart sont ottomanes. Jules Maciet (1846-1911) inaugure cet ensemble par le don en 1884 de deux housses de coussins ottomans. Très rapidement les Arts décoratifs développent une politique d’achat : en 1885 à la vente Dupont-Auberville, à la vente Goupil (1881) et, plus surprenant, au Bon Marché, grand magasin parisien, dès 1878. Au tournant du XXe siècle, il faut noter l’acquisition par Jules Maciet d’un lampas safavide signé par le naqshband Ghiyath et d’importants dons faits par le marchand Dikran Khan Kélékian en 1903 puis 1907, l’année même où le collectionneur Octave Homberg offre également un ensemble de treize pièces.
Dans les collections du Louvre il faut souligner quelques faits majeurs : le premier tapis n’est acquis qu’en 1904 ; il s’agit d’un petit kilim du XVIe siècle illustré d’épisode de Leyla et Majnun ; l’année 1912 est marquée, au Louvre, par l’importante acquisition du grand tapis safavide provenant de la collégiale de Mantes. En 1914, entre au Louvre un prestigieux et rare tapis de soie attribué à Kashan qui appartint à Joanny Peytel. Dans les années 1980, le Louvre achètent quelques tapis de belle qualité.

La céramique ottomane et le développement d’un « goût turc »

La céramique ottomane des collections des Arts décoratifs et du Louvre, forme un ensemble éblouissant, tant pour la céramique architecturale que pour les vaisselles.
Au Louvre, le premier don d’une céramique ottomane remonte à 1856 avec un plat à décor de quatre fleurs de la collection Sauvageot ; en 1884, Alexis Sorlin-Dorigny fait don d’une partie de sa collection de carreaux ottomans. En 1909, grâce au legs Charles Piet-Lataudrie, des pièces prestigieuses sont présentées dans les salles : un grand plat bleu et blanc à décor épigraphique, deux chopes, une étonnante coupe aux œillet sur fond entièrement rouge. Des pièces prestigieuses sont acquises durant tout le XXe siècle : deux pièces majeures de la collection du Baron Delort de Gléon, offertes en 1912, présentées au public en 1922 ; dans les années 1960-1970, entrent des pièces de très belle qualité avec le legs de Claudius Côte, collectionneur lyonnais et un don de Jean Soustiel.
Dernier orgueil de la collection, un magnifique plat (sahan) à décor saz est acquis par le Louvre en 1994. Il a appartenu aux prestigieuses collections Kelekian, Macy et Gutnayer. Il est un des plus beaux fleurons du grand art des ornemanistes ottomans.
Aux Arts décoratifs, sont achetées auprès du marchand Beshiktash, en 1889 et 1894 de belles « pièces » ottomanes : une vasque « Baba Naqqash » et un plat bleu et blanc à décor géométrique ; une très belle bouteille est offerte en 1903 ; puis en 1932 les époux Whitney lèguent un ensemble magnifique de vaisselles et de nombreux carreaux ottomans.

Paris : une plaque tournante du commerce d’art

Durant les dernières décennies du XIXe siècle, Paris fut le point névralgique du commerce d’art consacré à l’Orient. Les marchands furent eux-mêmes souvent donateurs : Dikran Kélékian (1868-1951), les frères Indoudjian, Raoul Duseigneur (1845-1916), Clotilde Duffeuty, Léonce Rosenberg (1877-1947), Charles Vignier (1863-1934) et tant d’autres.
Parmi les donateurs liés au Louvre, comme aux Arts décoratifs, on distinguera essentiellement Gaston Migeon déjà évoqués, et Raymond Keochlin (1860-1931), conservateur au Louvre et de vice-président du conseil d’administration de l’Union Centrale des Arts Décoratifs ; c’est dans le quartier de l’Europe rue de Constantinople (sic) qu’il repère dans la vitrine d’un magasin le plat le plus célèbre jamais réalisé à Iznik, le plat au paon ; devant s’absenter de Paris, il en confie l’achat à un ami qui néglige sa tâche ; à son retour à Paris, le chef-d’œuvre s’est envolé : après enquête, il en retrouve la trace à Londres ; le marchand qui le détient, sentant son acheteur captif parvient à lui faire acheter d’autres pièces pour obtenir celle-ci ; le plat entre au Louvre en 1932 avec l’ensemble de son legs.
Le legs Whitney (1932) fait entrer dans les collections des Arts Décoratifs 38 vaisselles ottomanes, un ensemble de carreaux non négligeable et un vaste ensemble de pièces iraniennes alors cataloguées sous le terme générique « Kubatchi ». Ce legs porte uniquement sur des pièces des derniers siècles.

Le règne de l’Iran : « Faience et miniatures de Perse »

L’essor de la collection de « miniatures persanes » du Louvre est dû pour l’essentiel au legs de la collection de Georges Marteau : cent trois oeuvres parmi lesquelles quatre-vingt onze sont des peintures et des dessins iraniens et moghols. Georges Marteau, éminent collectionneur et connaisseur de l’art du livre, sera l’organisateur avec Henri Vever de la première exposition d’art du livre islamique à Paris. Puis des œuvres majeures sont venues rejoindre les collections : six pages ottomanes dont trois pages du Siyar-é Nabi (Turquie, fin 1594-95) et un prestigieux portrait de Mustafa II, réalisés par Levni (acquis grâce au généreux mécénat de la fondation Sabancı). Le portrait de Shah Abbas 1er par Muhammad Qasim, unique portrait fait du vivant du Shah en 1627, entre au Louvre en 1975. Au total la collection du Louvre s’est enrichie ainsi d’une centaine de pièces depuis 1916 dont onze peintures et dessins lors du legs Koechlin (1932).
Au musée des arts Décoratifs, dès les années 1882, Maciet fait l’acquisition de pages mogholes. C’est en 1887 qu’est achetée une page célèbre tirée d’une anthologie timuride du premier tiers du XVe siècle, représentant la rencontre entre Humay et Humayun, et la même année une fort belle page tirée d’un ouvrage non identifié en persan achetée à De la Narde ; du même marchand provient une page attribuée à Reza-e Abbasi. Quatre feuillets peints, de l’Ecole de Bukhara sont offerts par Gaston Migeon en 1930. A la vente Sevadjian en 1960, trois pages sont acquises dont un oiseau dû au peintre Sheykh Abbasi, fils de Reza. Le musée des arts décoratifs se distingue également par une collection réduite mais de belle qualité de reliures isolées ou non de leur manuscrit ; plusieurs font partie du legs Piet-Lataudrie en 1914.
Quelques pièces de céramique iranienne des XVIe et XVIIe siècles ont été acquises par les Arts décoratifs, mais de façon éparse en dehors de quelques achats à Beshiktash en 1894 (bouteille lustrée sur glaçure bleu lavande) et à Beurdeley en 1895 (coupe à décor d’œillet safavide). De belles pièces sont acquises lors des ventes des années 1880 et des dons viennent compléter cet ensemble : don Filippo en 1908 (carreaux iraniens) et surtout, en 1905, le don d’un grand plat à la rosace par Raymond Koechlin. Enfin, un ensemble numériquement important et dont la typologie est assez cohérente, est dû au legs Whitney en 1931, qui fait entrer en masse des pièces alors qualifiés de « Kubatchi ».
Alors que la céramique ottomane, dite à tort « de Rhodes » suscite un engouement considérable chez les amateurs et dans les musées, les acquisitions de céramiques safavides sont essaimées sur de nombreuses années au Louvre : le grand panneau à la scène dans un jardin entre en 1893 ; c’est l’antiquaire Clotilde Duffeuty qui propose au Louvre les premières pièces de vaisselles safavides, acquises en 1893 ; et cette même année, le musée acquiert l’une des plus belles bouteilles lustrées de la collection, où figurent des bœufs à bosse dans un paysage. Un petit groupe de pièces, essentiellement des monochromes et des pièces lustrées, est acquis entre 1893 et 1895. Ensuite, ce sont moins de dix pièces, parfois fort belles, dont l’acquisition s’égrène de 1895 à 1930. C’est en 1981 que l’achat massif de dix-huit céramiques iraniennes, change radicalement l’aspect des collections safavides du Louvre et vient combler un manque très important.

L’Inde Moghole

Au rang des grands empires modernes de l’Islam, l’Inde moghole tient une place infiniment plus réduite dans les collections, bien loin de donner une juste image de la remarquable production artistique du sous-continent indien du XVIe au XVIIIe siècle.
L’essentiel de la collection est formé par un ensemble de peintures et de dessin issus en premier lieu du fonds du Musée Napoléon formé consécutivement aux conquêtes napoléoniennes, riche de quatre-vingt une pages essentiellement du XVIIIe siècle, de qualité inégale, comprenant quelques pages d’école provinciale ; le second fonds est dû au legs de Georges Marteau : ensemble de quarante pages mogholes, calligraphies, dessins et peintures, d’une remarquable qualité. Y figure notamment le célèbre portrait de Jahangir tenant le portrait de son défunt père Akbar due à deux grands artistes moghols. En 1893, le Louvre fait l’acquisition des premières pages de « miniatures » mogholes, auprès de Clotilde Duffeuty.
Il faut y ajouter un bel ensemble d’armes indiennes, demeuré mal connu et largement inédit. Les premières armes mogholes, entrent au Louvre en 1903, grâce au don de Raymond Koechlin, suivi en 1922 par des pièces issues du legs, et la même année par des pièces issues du legs de la baronne Salomon de Rothschild.
Parmi les collections des Rothschild se trouvaient des gemmes incrustées, un des domaines de prédilection des commanditaires moghols et notamment un ensemble de treize objets précieux, cornes à poudres et coupelles, miroirs et plateaux.
Depuis plusieurs années nous nous attachons à restituer à l’Inde la place essentielle qui doit être la sienne dans le panorama des derniers empires de l’Islam, grâce à une politique d’acquisition faisant plus de place au décor architectural, à l’ivoire et à la céramique.
La quête de perfection d’une collection n’est jamais achevée, jamais atteinte.
Depuis les années 1980 des objets tout à fait absents des collections ont été recherchés : les bidri indiens, des métaux ottomans trop rares encore, des reliures…

Sophie Makariou