louvre
louvre


You are here : homeSafavid ceramics and tiles

Safavid ceramics and tiles

The complex history of Safavid ceramics is due in part to the geographical position of Persia, placed as it was between the Ottoman Empire, the lands of Uzbek rulers, the Mughal empire and the Indian Ocean. The Safavid dynasty ruled over Persia (1501-1722) for over two centuries, with the first century proving to be a challenging time on all borders with intense military disruption on the Ottoman frontier.
Collectors in the earlier part of the nineteenth century tended to confuse Iznik and Iranian productions. Later travelers and collectors drew a distinction between Ottoman Turkey and Safavid Iran, and after World War I both collectors and historians concentrated on the long history of Iranian ceramics through the study of archaeological finds from the bronze age up to the thirteenth century when Rayy succumbed to the Mongols in 1220. Even before World War II Arthur Upham Pope in his important Survey of Persian art was mostly concerned with the early Islamic period reaching as far as the fifteenth century, the Timurid century.
A few recent studies have shed some light on Safavid ceramics through petrography, the study of the body fabric, and through the publication of the Victoria & Albert Museum’s Safavid blue and white ceramics. A number of buildings with tile revetments such as the tomb of Harun-i Vilayat in Isfahan (1512) and a few dated pieces have provided some help towards a tentative chronology. Without archaeological studies, to this day it has not been possible to provide specific locations of production, yet Safavid potteries can be assigned to certain areas in the provinces of Azerbaijan, Khurasan, Fars, Kirman and presumably around Isfahan.

Whereas a certain unity of style prevailed in ceramics across Timurid lands of the fifteenth century, this was no longer the case in the sixteenth century when the Ottoman court imposed a new style of decoration based on preliminary drawings. In the sixteenth century the shifting of capitals away from Ottoman borders could not have be conducive to the creation of a specific style of decoration. Only the same crackled glaze, three spur marks in the center and free hand painting, appear to unite the production of the so-called Kubachi wares, likely to have been produced in the area of Tabriz. The Timurid style survived for a few decades on large blue and white dishes; they recall the bold flower motifs drawn from Chinese export wares of the Yongle period (1403-1424) until echoes of Iznik designs such as groups of flowers on a pale blue or light beige ground are visible on a few dishes as well as a type of saz leaf used as a repeat.

Some tiles must have been made for the Safavid buildings in Qasvin in the middle of the sixteenth century. Later and well into the reign of Shah ‘Abbas I, further dishes and tiles respond more closely to the court style in manuscripts, as busts of courtiers and even foreigners decorate them. Yet the influx of Wanli (1573-1620) Kraak export porcelain also imposed its designs of panels round the wall, and birds in the center of dishes, both in blue and white and polychrome.
All of a sudden it seems, the entire sixteenth century type of ceramic decoration disappears towards the end of the rule of Shah ‘Abbas I and potteries start responding with great gusto to the arrival of an increasing quantity of Kraak wares on the Persian market with the result that the quality of the white stonepaste and its glaze improved dramatically. The most likely reason for this radical change would be the appearance on the scene of the VOC, the Dutch East India Company, the new international purveyors in bulk of Chinese export wares. Whereas the sixteenth century Iznik production had in no time abandoned Chinese designs, the Persian potter, in his renewed efforts to compete with Chinese wares, made good use of seventeenth century and earlier Chinese models, with his usual freehand approach in adapting original Far Eastern patterns.

At the change of dynasty in China and after the middle of the seventeenth century, new Qing patterns were perceived in Persia throughout the applied arts, when Chinese monochrome glazes influenced yellow, white, green and blue, molded or incised shapes of Persian bottles, bowls and dishes. Some white bowls were carved with “rice pattern” ornaments following the Chinese manner. This is done by cutting the kernel-shaped hole with a small flexible steel lancet. By contrast a group of large dishes strikes a note of elegance which recalls Mughal patterns on jade and encrusted metalwork, as well as earlier Chinese models.
A further new style of decoration, coming closer to textile repeats of flower sprays, included the introduction of pale red, yellow and some green colors alternating with blue patterns on the usual white ground for dishes, qalyans and flattened bottles. Yet a most striking group of bottles, bowls, small cups and jugs, brought to the last half-century of the Safavid dynasty an original touch which owes nothing to Chinese export wares. It is a large series of luster painted pieces where the luster is applied overglaze either on a white or blue glazed ground. These may alternate on one piece, usually a long neck bottle. Most of the decoration relates to the motifs on the golden borders for manuscript paintings. It is the world of peacocks, gazelles, flowers recalling poppies or lotuses, and river banks with trees.

Safavid tiles in Persian architecture remained closer to traditional designs than the variety of ceramic patterns and shapes already described. The tile mosaic tradition is thus carried on from the time of the Aqqoyunlu Blue Mosque (1465) in Tabriz. Yet by the seventeenth century the use of whole tiles has become the faster way of decorating the surfaces of larger public and religious buildings, especially in the new capital of Isfahan, although in Kerman the architectural complex built by its governor Ganj Ali Khan around 1600 was still in part decorated with tile mosaic. Whereas the cuerda seca technique was soon to be discarded by the Ottoman potters in the sixteenth century, this technique held good in Persia throughout the seventeenth and early into the eighteenth century. The numerous religious and formal buildings on both sides of the Zayendeh Rud, the river of Isfahan, were decorated with polychrome tiles, with yellow being used more and more besides blues of several shades, browns and sage green.

One may well ask what happened to Persian ceramics after the fall of the Safavid dynasty. Later potters may have attempted to imitate Chinese peacock feather or robin’s egg glazes of the Qianlong rule, yet two important discoveries took place in Europe in the eighteenth century which curtailed the production of traditional ceramic shapes. In the first place kaolin, one of the two components of porcelain, was discovered in Saxony during the rule of the king Augustus the Strong. In the second place, transfer printing was invented in England by John Sadler in 1755. Specialized painters were no longer required to decorate ceramics, and these cheaper goods could then compete favorably with local Persian production.
Nevertheless under the rule of Karim Khan Zand in Shiraz, elegant tile panels in the style of Famille rose were designed for private houses, madrasas and the Vakil Mosque in 1766. The tile tradition was carried into the Qajar era. Without any doubt and to conclude, Persian ceramics under Safavid rule reached a degree of excellence which was never surpassed in the land of Hafiz and Saadi.


Fragmentary tile depicting a young man Fragmentary tile depicting a young man
OA 5544
© RMN / Berizzi
Bottle with hunter Bottle with hunter
MAO 253
© RMN / Berizzi
Bottle with landscape decoration Bottle with landscape decoration
OA 8168
© RMN / Ojéda 06-520666 et 67
Dish with rosette design Dish with rosette design
Ucad 11945
© RMN / Berizzi
Dish with stylized vegetal decoration Dish with stylized vegetal decoration
Ucad 17535
© RMN / Berizzi
Meeting in a garden Meeting in a garden
OA 3340
© RMN / Blot
Flask with music scene Flask with music scene
OA 7780
© RMN / Lewandowski
Bottle with vegetal decoration Bottle with vegetal decoration
Ucad 8061
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Dish decorated with a young woman Dish decorated with a young woman
Ucad 27780
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Bottle with a landscape Bottle with a landscape
OA 6122
© Musée du Louvre / E. Revault
Panel with confronted peacocks Panel with confronted peacocks
MAO 1189
© RMN / Berizzi

louvre
louvre


Vous êtes ici: AccueilCéramiques et carreaux safavides

Céramiques et carreaux safavides

La complexité de l’histoire de la céramique safavide est due en partie à la situation géographique de la Perse, entre l’Empire ottoman, les territoires des souverains ouzbeks, l’empire moghol et l’océan Indien. La dynastie safavide a dominé la Perse pendant plus de deux siècles (1501-1722) ; le premier siècle de cette domination est marqué par de nombreux problèmes sur toutes les frontières, particulièrement intenses à la frontière ottomane.
Les collectionneurs du début du XIXe siècle ont eu tendance à confondre la production d’Iznik et la production iranienne. Les voyageurs puis après la première Guerre mondiale, les collectionneurs et les historiens, distinguent les deux productions et se concentrent sur la longue histoire de la céramique iranienne à travers l’études d’objets découverts lors de fouilles archéologiques, provenant d’une période allant de l’âge du Bronze jusqu’au XIIIe siècle, en 1220, lorsque Rayy tombe aux mains des Mongols. Avant même la seconde Guerre mondiale, Arthur Upham Pope, dans son ouvrage sur l’art persan, étudie les débuts de la période islamique, jusqu’au XVe siècle, le siècle timouride.
Quelques études récentes ont mis en lumière certains aspects de la céramique safavide grâce à la pétrographie, l’étude de la structure des objets ainsi que la publication des céramiques safavides bleues et blanches du Victoria & Albert Museum. Un certain nombre de bâtiments avec des revêtements de carreaux comme la tombe de Harun-i Vilayat à Ispahan (1512) ainsi que quelques œuvres datées ont permis de commencer à établir un début de chronologie. Sans études archéologiques, il n’est pas encore possible d’identifier des lieux de production précis, mais on peut dire que les poteries safavides proviennent de certaines zones des provinces d’Azerbaïdjan, du Khorasan, du Fars, du Kirmân, et probablement des alentours d’Ispahan.

Si l’on note une certaine unité stylistique dans la céramique des territoires timourides du XVe siècle, ce n’est déjà plus le cas au XVIe siècle, où la cour ottomane impose un nouveau style de décor, basé sur des dessins préliminaires. Au XVIe siècle, les capitales safavides s’écartent des frontières ottomanes, ce qui ne favorise pas la création d’un style décoratif spécifique. La glaçure craquelée, les trois incisions au centre et le décor peint à main levée semblent les seules caractéristiques communes aux céramiques dites Kubachi, sans doute produites dans la région de Tabriz. Le style timouride survit quelques décennies avec de grands plats bleus et blancs qui rappellent les motifs floraux chinois de la période Yongle (1403-1424) ; apparaissent ensuite sur quelques plats des échos de motifs d’Iznik tels que des groupes de fleurs sur fond bleu pâle ou beige clair ou le type de feuille saz utilisé comme motif répétitif.

Certains carreaux ont probablement été fabriqués pour les bâtiments safavides de la ville de Qasvin au milieu du XVIe siècle. Sous le règne de Shah Abbas I, les plats et les carreaux reflètent davantage le style de cour des manuscrits, décorés de bustes de courtisans et même d’étrangers. Mais, l’arrivée massive de porcelaines d’importation Kraak de la période Wanli (1573-1620) influence les carreaux muraux et le centre des plats, avec des décors aux oiseaux qu’ils soient bleus et blancs ou polychromes.
Le type de céramique et de décor du XVIe siècle semble disparaître brusquement vers la fin du règne de Shah Abbas I, et les poteries imitent de plus en plus clairement les céramiques Kraak qui arrivent massivement le marché persan. Il en résulte une amélioration spectaculaire de la qualité de la pâte blanche et de la glaçure. L’explication la plus vraisemblable de ce changement radical réside dans l’entrée en scène de la compagnie hollandaise des Indes de l’est, la VOC, qui devient le nouveau fournisseur international de marchandises d’importations chinoises. Alors que la production d’Iznik du XVIe siècle avait rapidement abandonné les motifs chinois, les potiers persans, qui s’efforcent de concurrencer les marchandises chinoises, reprennent des modèles chinois du XVIIe siècle et des périodes antérieures, qu’ils adaptent librement.

A partir du milieu du XVIIe siècle, on découvre les motifs de la nouvelle dynastie chinoise, les Qing, dans les arts appliqués en Perse : les glaçures chinoises monochromes recouvrent bouteilles, bols et plats persans à moulures et à incisions, de couleur jaune, blanche, verte et bleue. Certains bols blancs sont ornés de « motifs de riz » gravés, à la manière chinoise ; ce motif est obtenu en pratiquant des incisions en forme de grain de riz à l’aide d’une petite lancette souple en acier. Un ensemble de grands plats rappelle les décors moghols des jades incisés et des métaux incrustés.
Dans ces décors nouveaux, qui se rapprochent des motifs en gerbes de fleurs des broderies contemporaines, on assiste à l’introduction de rouge pâle, de jaune et de couleurs vertes alternant avec des motifs bleus sur le fond blanc habituel des plats, qalyans et bouteilles.
Pendant les cinquante dernières années de la dynastie safavide, bouteilles, bols, petites coupes et pichets peuvent recevoir un décor original lustré et peint, où le lustre est appliqué sur la glaçure, contrastant avec un fond blanc ou bleu. La plupart des décors évoque les motifs des marges dorées des manuscrits. C’est un monde peuplé de paons, de gazelles, où poussent des fleurs rappelant des pavots ou des lotus, et où coulent des rivières bordées d’arbres.

Les carreaux safavides dans l’architecture persane sont plus proches des motifs traditionnels que les formes et les motifs variés des céramiques décrits plus haut. La tradition de la mosaïque en carreaux se perpétue depuis l’époque de la mosquée bleue Ak Koyunlu à Tabriz (1465). Au XVIIe siècle, l’utilisation de carreaux entiers est le moyen le plus rapide de décorer les surfaces de grands bâtiments publics et religieux, en particulier dans la nouvelle capitale Ispahan, même si à Kerman l’ensemble architectural construit par le gouverneur de la ville Ganj Ali Khan autour de l’an 1600 est encore partiellement décoré de mosaïque de carreaux. La technique cuerda seca, qui est rapidement abandonnée par les potiers ottomans au XVIe siècle, subsiste en revanche en Perse pendant tout le XVIIe siècle et jusqu’au début du XVIIIe siècle. Les nombreux bâtiments religieux et officiels sur les deux rives de la Zayendeh Rud, la rivière d’Ispahan, sont décorés de carreaux polychromes où la couleur jaune se fait de plus en plus présente, outre les nuances de bleus, les teintes brunes et le vert sauge..

On peut se demander ce qui est advenu de la céramique persane après la chute de la dynastie safavide. Des potiers ont pu par la suite tenter d’imiter le style « plume de paon chinoise » ou les glaçures « œuf de rouge-gorge » du règne de Qianlong mais deux découvertes importantes qui ont eu lieu en Europe au XVIIIe siècle ont diminué la production de formes céramiques traditionnelles : la première découverte, celle du kaolin, l’un des deux composants de la porcelaine, a lieu en Saxe sous le règne du roi Auguste le fort ; la deuxième est l’invention de l’impression par transfert en Angleterre par John Sadler en 1755 ; faire appel à des peintres spécialisés pour décorer la céramique n’était plus nécessaire, et ces nouvelles marchandises moins chères pouvaient dès lors concurrencer la production locale persane.
Cependant, sous le règne de Karim Khan Zand à Shiraz, on réalise encore d’élégants panneaux de carreaux dans le style de la Famille rose, destinés à orner des maisons de particuliers, des madrasas et la Mosquée Vakil en 1766. La tradition des carreaux se poursuit sous la dynastie Qajar. Sans aucun doute, on peut dire pour conclure que la céramique persane à l’époque safavide atteint un degré d’excellence qui ne fut jamais surpassé dans le pays de Hafiz et de Saadi.


Carreau fragmentaire au jeune homme Carreau fragmentaire au jeune homme
OA 5544
© RMN / Berizzi
Bouteille au chasseur Bouteille au chasseur
MAO 253
© RMN / Berizzi
Bouteille à a décor de paysage Bouteille à a décor de paysage
OA 8168
© RMN / Ojéda 06-520666 et 67
Plat à la rosace Plat à la rosace
Ucad 11945
© RMN / Berizzi
Plat à décor végétal stylisé Plat à décor végétal stylisé
Ucad 17535
© RMN / Berizzi
Assemblée dans un jardin Assemblée dans un jardin
OA 3340
© RMN / Blot
Flacon à la scène de musique Flacon à la scène de musique
OA 7780
© RMN / Lewandowski
Bouteille à décor végétal Bouteille à décor végétal
Ucad 8061
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Plat à décor de jeune femme Plat à décor de jeune femme
Ucad 27780
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Bouteille au paon Bouteille au paon
OA 6122
© Musée du Louvre / E. Revault
Panneau aux paons affrontés Panneau aux paons affrontés
MAO 1189
© RMN / Berizzi