louvre
louvre


You are here : homeIznik and Ottoman ceramics

Iznik and Ottoman ceramics

In the latter half of the fifteenth century, following the Fall of Constantinople and the establishment of the Ottoman Court in the former capital of the Byzantine Empire, many areas of artistic production enjoyed a renewal of forms. These changes reflected the fuller involvement of a court whose patronage was particularly evident in book arts and in the textile industry. This courtly demand also seems to have given rise towards the end of the reign of Mehmet II to the production of ceramic wares of great technical perfection, designed for a new elite eager for luxury objects. This production of high-quality ceramics was to endure in the sixteenth century, before the onset of a period of progressive decline throughout the seventeenth century.

These high-quality ceramic wares, referred to as çini in Ottoman documents, were intended for the domestic market of the Ottoman Empire, but were also soon exported outside of the Empire, to Italy in particular, where the exported wares would give rise to local imitations. Though Iznik was the main centre of production, such ceramic wares were also produced in the city of Kütahya, as is borne out by finds from excavations carried out there. Istanbul may also have been the site of sporadic productions directly linked to commissions from the court.

An innovative technology

These new Iznik ceramic wares had a stonepaste body, whose plumbiferous nature and high percentage of frit (a vitreous substance) set them apart from earlier stonepaste pottery produced in the Islamic world. According to the latest analyses, the composition of the stonepaste of Iznik ceramics was as follows: 65 to 75 % quartz; 15 to 18% frit rich in lead and lime; 3 to 4 % highly plumbiferous frit; only 8 to 13 % non-calcareous clay with a low proportion of iron oxide that was to impart a slightly pinkish hue to the body once fired. The addition of frit, obtained from crushed glass, was indispensable here, as when molten it would form a binder between the quartz particles. The low clay content of stonepaste reduced its malleability, making it difficult to turn; certain forms such as dishes with everted flanges or chargers were therefore obtained with the help of a template placed on the wheel and an exterior mold.

The body was then coated with a slip – thinned siliceous clay – similar in composition to the paste and providing a perfect “fit” to the body. The decoration was applied to this slip coating when dry or perhaps after an initial firing of the body. It was trailed using a brush and various pigments and coated with a colorless glaze. While designs could be traced freehand, the highly structured compositions of many Iznik wares required the use of stencils. Many existing objects testify to their use, such as twin pieces and pieces with designs made up of identical motifs repeated at regular intervals, or “repeating-module tiles” used to form entire wall panels.

The composition of the tin-opacified lead-alkali glaze which coated the decoration was another distinctive feature of Iznik ceramics. This vitreous substance was of a highly pure composition here, characterized by a very low potash and magnesia content; these residual elements traditionally found in lead-alkali glazes came from their alkaline flux that was obtained from the ashes of plants from coastal or desert regions. The virtually total absence of such residue may be due to an additional ash purification stage, a technique used to produce Venetian cristallo glass from the mid-fifteenth century onward and which may have come to the notice of Iznik potters. The extremely transparent glazes of Iznik ceramic wares nonetheless contained a small proportion of tin. Firing temperatures for Iznik ceramics can only be estimated; such estimations range from 850-900° C to 1200° C.

Changes and evolution

The golden age of Iznik ceramic wares covered the whole of the sixteenth century, undergoing much formal evolution and enjoying increasing diversification of its decorative repertoire, with decline setting in from the early seventeenth century onward. Despite the lack of dated items, art historians have managed to piece together a relative chronology of the evolution of Iznik ceramics, bringing out the stylistic phases and delimiting the emergence of certain forms.

  • Between 1480 and 1520, cobalt blue was the predominant decorative hue, with different concentrations of the same pigment being used to obtain many shades of blue. This initial phase was dominated stylistically by a combination of stylized vegetal forms specific to the Islamic repertoire called rumi in reference to the Seljukids of Rum, and of floral motifs known as hatayi inspired by Chinese art (China being Hatay in Ottoman).
  • Towards the late 1520s, turquoise, obtained from copper oxide, was associated with the cobalt blue. With the diversification of Iznik’s ceramic repertoire, several styles were to coexist between 1530-40: the tugrakes spiral style inspired by the illuminations covering imperial monograms; the “potters’ style” that included novel features such as a new floral thematic register; or a series of pieces imitating Chinese models to a greater or lesser degree of fidelity. This wave of Chinese inspiration was apparent in the introduction of themes such as the three bunches of grapes, the lotus bouquet, and the floral spiraling scrollwork in reserve on the center of dishes that would be constantly reinterpreted over the following decades. While Safavid ceramicists gladly adopted the figurative animal repertoire or landscape elements from the genre scenes of Chinese ceramic wares, Ottoman ceramicists favored compositional schemes and a host of secondary motifs, wave borders, meander scrollwork, rosettes, lotus petals, etc.
  • During the 1540s, the color palette of Iznik ceramics was distinctly enriched with a green ranging from sage to olive (probably introduced in the 1530s), and a manganese oxide-based aubergine mauve. This period is still sometimes referred to as the “Damascus phase” as this color scheme is similar to that found in tiles and vessels produced in Damascus in the Ottoman era. During this first polychrome phase the influence of the saz drawings is more clearly discernible. Developed by Sahkulu, a designer native to Tabriz and in the court’s employ since 1525, this style found its finest expression in ink drawings showing exuberant vegetal compositions that include composite flowers and highly intricate versions of the lotus blossoms and peonies of Chinese art, associated with long serrated leaves known as hançeri as their long curve is reminiscent of a dagger (hançer in Turkish). Tulips, carnations, hyacinths, and violets, highly prized by the Ottoman elite with a passion for horticulture, are gradually used to enrich saz compositions.
  • In the third quarter of the century, this naturalistic floral repertoire, called sukufe in Turkish, came to predominate, asserting itself along with a new color scheme based on the combination of bright tomato red in slight relief obtained from iron oxide, and a very fine emerald green.
  • In the last three decades of the sixteenth century, a highly diversified repertoire was also to find expression through such colorings: abstract compositions, sometimes set on fish-scale grounds, figurative scenes with animals or boats, etc. This was a highly prolific period, yet one that was to be swiftly followed by a period of slow decline at the turn of the seventeenth century. Continually reworked, inspirations from the past became hackneyed, and these clumsy versions with their increasingly perceptible loss of quality were no longer comparable with the creations of the previous century.

Tilework

Iznik tile production started to boom around the mid-sixteenth century and was stimulated and controlled by court commissions. Iznik was the main production center of underglaze painted tiles, but the city of Kütahya was to flourish throughout the seventeenth century. Many archival documents testify to the link between Iznik workshops and the court, including complaints addressed to the kadi of Iznik on delays in delivery or the misappropriation of tiles sold to merchants instead of being sent to the capital.

Ceramicists working in Istanbul appear to have played an important role before the mid-sixteenth century. Archive documents testify to the existence of a certain number of kasigeran (tilemakers) at that time among the craftsmen directly attached to the court (ehl-i hiref), whereas their number would become insignificant in the second half of the century.

These craftsmen produced both underglaze painted and cuerda seca tiles. The technique of cuerda seca, which appeared towards the late fourteenth century in Central Asia, had already been used in the fifteenth century in monuments of early Ottoman art, through the intervention of craftsmen who had been trained in this technique at the Timurid court. It enjoyed renewed favor shortly after Selim I captured Tabriz, once again impelled by craftsmen of Iranian extraction. These cuerda seca designs are attributed to a group overseen by a certain Habib of Tabriz, then by his successor Usta Ali, both mentioned in the archives of the Topkapi Palace. This technique, which is to be found on several buildings in Istanbul, attained the height of its perfection with the interior decoration of the tomb of the Sehzade Mehmet (1445-48). Shortly after this mausoleum decoration was produced, this technique went out of fashion, to be supplanted by underglaze painted designs. The Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem was the last large building project to feature it.

In Istanbul, the same group of ceramicists may have produced underglaze painted tiles intended to decorate pavilions built in the Topkapi Palace. Some of them bear some relation to the decoration of cuerda seca tilework; in particular, they share a repertoire of motifs that appear to be executed in the stencil style. The most remarkable achievements that can be attributed to these workshops are two monumental plaques reused in the seventeenth century on the façade of the Sünnet Odasi (Circumcision Room) featuring a saz landscape peopled with fabulous beasts. The perfection of the drawing is probably due to the intervention of a designer from the imperial nakkashane – perhaps Sahkulu himself. The coloring is still limited here to cobalt blue and turquoise, and matches that of contemporaneous Iznik ceramic wares.

From the early sixteenth century onward Iznik craftsmen would also have produced tiles, sporadically and still on a very limited scale. The tiles of the mausoleum of Sehzade Mahmud (around 1506), very close to the style of Baba Nakkas pottery wares, are one example attesting to this output. In the latter half of the sixteenth century, when commissions for underglaze painted tiles came flooding into Iznik workshops, their designs and color schemes evolved in accordance with those of ceramic vessels. One part of the repertoire was firmly rooted in the tradition of architectural tilework, with "stencil-style" motifs, while elements characteristic of the saz and sukufe registers found on vessels were also in evidence. Red was first seen in the tilework decoration of the Süleymaniye (completed in 1559) and provides a benchmark for dating vessels bearing this color. Then was to begin a golden age with a succession of large building initiatives that gave rise to unique decorative programs in which tilework would match painted work (kalem isi) or exterior designs carved in stone: the Rüstem Pasa Mosque (circa 1561), the Sokollu Mehmed Pasa Mosque (1572), or the mausoleums of Roxelane (1558), Süleyman the Magnificent (1566), or Selim II (1572).

These ceramic designs, like the Ottoman architectural style that came to assert itself in these provincial towns, are all echoes of the evolution of forms and tastes that spread from the capital of the Empire to the provinces. Craftsmen from Iznik would execute the decorations of the monuments of Antalya, Aleppo, or Diyarbakir locally. The color palette characteristic of Iznik wares recurs here, yet with slight differences: a less rigorous symmetry, a more irregular grid, different standards of sizes, and a glaze of lesser quality.

In the city of Damascus, a more original production, nonetheless influenced by the decorative repertoire of Iznik tiles, came into being shortly after the renovation of the Dome of the Rock. Some of the craftsmen who worked on the restoration of this prestigious monument may then have gone on to settle in Damascus, where they made the tiles destined for the pious foundations constructed in this city by Süleyman the Magnificent or high-ranking Ottoman dignitaries. One of the first constructions was the mosque of Süleyman the Magnificent built around 1550-54. It revealed for the first time tilework inspired by Istanbul creations but in a color palette that was subsequently to mark Damascene production: turquoise blue, chrome green, and aubergine brown. The Damascene color palette – which is also that of Iznik wares from the 1540s and 1550s – is a color scheme that was already found in the Mamluke era. However the craftsmen of Damascus also maintained the taste for designs trailed in black beneath a turquoise glaze – a further legacy from the medieval past adapted to a specifically Ottoman decorative repertoire. The local production of tiles – known in Damascus by the term qishani, derived from the name of the Iranian city of Kashan – seems to have endured since the Mamluke era. The stonepaste was also made according to recipes dating back to medieval times, and the glazes remained mainly alkaline and subject to crackling.


Peacock dish Peacock dish
K 3449
© RMN / Berizzi
Tankard with floral decoration Tankard with floral decoration
OA 6323
© RMN / Berizzi
Recipient with lid Recipient with lid
OA 7880/101
© RMN / Berizzi
Bowl with carnations Bowl with carnations
OA 6325
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Dish with calligraphic decoration Dish with calligraphic decoration
OA 6321
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Two tiles with cypresses and flowers Two tiles with cypresses and flowers
Ucad 17351
© Musée du Louvre / C. Tabbagh
Two tile panels with rose and tulips Two tile panels with rose and tulips
Ucad 5972 a and b
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / E. Revault
Poetical inscription Poetical inscription
Ucad 8377
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / E. Revault
Tile with undulating flowering stems Tile with undulating flowering stems
Ucad 10539
© Musée du Louvre / C. Tabbagh
Pair of spandrels with roses and tulips Pair of spandrels with roses and tulips
OA 3959/52, OA 3959/53
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault

louvre
louvre


Vous êtes ici: AccueilIznik et la céramique ottomane

Iznik et la céramique ottomane

Dans la seconde moitié du XVe siècle, après la prise de Constantinople et l’installation de la cour ottomane dans l’ancienne capitale byzantine, s’observent dans de nombreux domaines artistiques un renouvellement des formes. Ces évolutions reflétaient une implication plus forte de la cour dont le mécénat était particulièrement sensible dans le arts du livre et l’industrie textile. C’est dans ce contexte que vers la fin du règne de Mehmet II apparaît une production de vaisselle de céramique d’une grande perfection technique, répondant aux besoins d’une élite en demande d’objets de luxe et d’apparat. Cette production devait se poursuivre durant tour le XVIe siècle avant de connaître une période de lent déclin au cours du siècle suivant.

Désignée en turc ottoman par le terme « çini », cette céramique était destinée à l’élite de l’Empire mais s’est aussi exportée très rapidement hors de ses frontières, en Italie notamment, où l’on trouve des imitations locales. Si la ville d’Iznik en fut le centre de production principal, elle fut également produite à Kütahya comme le prouvent les découvertes faites lors de fouilles effectuées dans cette ville. Une production sporadique et liée à des commandes de la cour a dû également exister à Istanbul.

Une technologie originale

Cette céramique était fabriquée à partir d’une pâte siliceuse et frittée qui se distingue de ses homologues fabriquées dans le monde islamique par une plus grande proportion de fritte singulièremenet riche en plomb. D’après des analyses récentes, la composition de la pâte était : 65 à 75 % de quartz, 15 à 18 % d’une fritte riche en plomb et chaux, 3-4 % d’une seconde fritte très plombifère, 8 à 13 % d’argile non calcaire à faible teneur en oxyde de fer donnant une légère teinte rosée à la pâte une fois cuite. La présence de fritte est ici essentielle ; la fritte qui fond lors de la cuisson crée un tissu vitreux liant les particules de quartz entre elles. Comme toute pâte siliceuse, sa faible teneur en argile la rend peu plastique et difficile à tourner ; on devait donc utiliser une matrice placée sur le tour et d’un moule extérieur pour obtenir certaines formes comme les plats à marli éversé ou les grandes vasques. La pièce était ensuite engobée au moyen d’une argile siliceuse délayée d’une composition proche de celle de la pâte et adhérant parfaitement à celle-ci. Le décor, appliqué sur l’engobe sec ou peut-être après une première cuisson de la pâte, était tracé au pinceau, à main levée ou en utilisant des poncifs, puis recouvert d’une glaçure transparente. L’utilisation de poncifs est attestée par l’existence de pièces jumelles, par la répétition sur certains objets d’un motif répété à l’identique et à intervalles strictement réguliers ou encore par les carreaux de revêtement modulaires destinés à former de grands panneaux muraux.

La céramique d’Iznik se distingue aussi des productions contemporaines ou plus anciennes par la composition très pure de sa glaçure, de nature à la fois alcaline et plombifère et contenant une très faible proportion d’étain. Les éléments résiduels comme la potasse ou la magnésie, traditionnellement présents dans les fondants alcalins obtenus à partir des cendres de plantes côtières ou désertiques, y sont en effet quasiment absents. Cette particularité pourrait s’expliquer par une étape de purification des cendres, technique utilisée à Venise pour produire le verre cristallo à partir du milieu du XVe siècle et qui a pu être connue des potiers d’Iznik. Extrêmement transparentes, les glaçures des céramiques d’Iznik contiennent néanmoins une faible quantité d’étain. La température de cuisson est estimée entre 850° et 1200° selon les spécialistes.

Evolution stylistique

Durant tout le XVIe siècle, la céramique d’Iznik connaît une diversification de son répertoire et un enrichissement de sa palette, avant de connaître une période de déclin. Bien qu’il existe très peu de pièces datées, les historiens de l’art ont réussi à déterminer une chronologie relative basée sur l’identification de phases stylistiques distinctes et l’apparition de nouvelles formes.

  • entre 1480 et 1520, domine le bleu de cobalt qui, plus ou moins délayé, permet d’obtenir de nombreuses nuances de bleu jouant avec le fond blanc ; le décor se caractérise par des combinaisons de formes végétales stylisées propre au répertoire islamique, dits « rumi » en référence aux Seldjoukides de Rum et de motifs floraux dits « hatayi », inspirés par l’art chinois (Chine se disait Hatay en ottoman).
  • vers la fin des années 1520, le bleu turquoise, à base d’oxyde de cuivre, est associé au bleu cobalt. Le répertoire se diversifie et plusieurs styles coexistent dans les années 1530-40 : le style « tugrakeş spiralé » inspiré par les enluminures qui tapissent les monogrammes impériaux, le « style des potiers » avec une nouvelle thématique florale et des imitations plus ou moins fidèles de modèles chinois tels que les trois grappes de raisins, le bouquet de lotus, le rinceau de fleurs en spirale réservés au fond des plat réinterprétés au cour des décennies suivantes. Il est à noter que si les céramistes safavides ont volontiers adopté le répertoire figuratif animalier ou des éléments de paysage des scènes de genre de la céramique chinoise, les céramistes ottomans ont plutôt retenu des schémas de composition et de nombreux motifs secondaires, marlis à vagues, rinceaux ondulants, rosaces, pétales de lotus, etc.
  • dans la décennie 1540, la palette de la céramique d’Iznik est déjà enrichie de verts allant du sauge à l’olive, sans doute introduits dans les années trente, et d’un mauve aubergine à base d’oxyde de manganèse. Cette phase est parfois qualifiée de « phase de Damas » car elle rappelle la palette des carreaux et de la vaisselle produits à Damas à l’époque ottomane. Durant cette première phase polychrome, l’influence du style saz se fait nettement sentir ; développés par Şahkulu, dessinateur originaire de Tabriz et employé à la cour depuis 1525, les dessins saz se caractérisent par des compositions végétales exubérantes aux fleurs composites, versions très complexifiées de lotus et pivoines chinois, associées à de longues feuilles dentelées, dites hançeri car leur longue courbe évoque une dague de poignard (hançer en turc). A ces éléments propres au style saz sont peu à peu associées d’autres fleurs: tulipes, oeillets, jacinthes et violettes, très prisées par les élites ottomanes férues d’horticulture.
  • dans le troisième quart du siècle, ce répertoire floral d’inspiration naturaliste, appelé şükûfe en turc, devient dominant et s’impose en même temps qu’une nouvelle harmonie colorée associant le rouge tomate éclatant, en léger relief, obtenu à base d’oxyde de fer et un très beau vert émeraude ;
  • dans les trois dernières décennies du XVIe siècle, le répertoire se diversifie : compositions abstraites sur fond écailleux, scènes animalières, bateaux, etc. C’est une période de grand foisonnement auquel succède pourtant très rapidement, au tournant du XVIIe siècle, une période de lent déclin. Les trouvailles du passé, sans cesse reprises, deviennent éculées et la perte de qualité est de plus en plus sensible.

La céramique de revêtement

La production de carreaux de revêtement d’Iznik prend son essor vers le milieu du XVIe siècle ; elle est stimulée et contrôlée par les commandes passées par la cour. Si Iznik est le principal centre de production de carreaux peints sous glaçure, le rôle de Kütahya va grandissant durant tout le XVIIe siècle. De nombreux documents d’archives attestent des liens entre les ateliers d’Iznik et la cour dont des plaintes adressées au kadi d’Iznik sur les retards de livraison ou encore le détournement de carreaux vendus à des marchands au lieu d’être expédiés vers la capitale.

Les céramistes travaillant à Istanbul semblent alors avoir joué un rôle important avant le milieu du XVIe siècle. Les documents d’archives témoignent de l’existence à cette époque d’un certain nombre de kaşigeran (fabricants de carreaux) parmi les artisans rattachés directement à la cour (ehl-i hiref ) alors que leur nombre devient insignifiant dans la seconde moitié du siècle.

Les artisans réalisent des carreaux peints sous glaçure ou en cuerda seca. La technique de la cuerda seca, apparue vers la fin du XIVe siècle en Asie Centrale avait déjà été utilisée au XVe siècle dans les monuments du premier art ottoman par l’entremise d’artisans formés à cette technique à la cour timouride. Elle connaît un regain de faveur peu après la prise de Tabriz par Selim II, sous l’impulsion d’artisans d’origine iranienne. On attribue ces décors en cuerda seca à une équipe dirigée par un certain Habib de Tabriz puis son successeur Usta Ali, tous deux cités dans les archives du Palais de Topkapı. Cette technique, qui se rencontre sur plusieurs édifices d’Istanbul, atteint un sommet de perfection avec le décor intérieur du tombeau du Şehzade Mehmet (1445-48). Peu après la réalisation du décor de ce mausolée, cette technique passe de mode, supplantée par les décors peints sous glaçure. Le dernier chantier d’importance dans lequel elle apparaît est celui du Dôme du Rocher, à Jérusalem.

A Istanbul, c’est peut-être le même groupe d’artisans qui a produit des carreaux peints sous glaçure destinés au décor de pavillons construits dans le palais de Topkapi. Certains portent des motifs qui semblent exécutés au pochoir et montrent des affinité avec les carreaux de cuerda seca contemporains. Mais les réalisations les plus remarquables sont deux plaques monumentales réemployées au XVIIe siècle sur la façade de la Sünnet Odası (Chambre de la Circoncision) sur lequel se déploie un paysage saz dans lequel évolue des animaux fabuleux. La perfection du dessin s’explique sans doute par l’intervention d’un dessinateur du nakkaşhane impérial, peut-être Şahkulu lui-même. La palette y est encore restreinte au bleu cobalt et au turquoise et s’accorde avec celle de la vaisselle d’Iznik contemporaine.

Les artisans d’Iznik ont également dû produire, dès le début du XVIe siècle, des carreaux de céramique, de manière sporadique, et à une échelle encore très réduite comme ceux du mausolée de Şehzade Mahmud (vers 1506), proches du style des vaisselles de la poterie Baba Nakkaş. Dans la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle, alors que les commandes de carreaux peints sous glaçure affluent dans les ateliers d’Iznik, l’évolution du décor et de la palette suit celle de la vaisselle. Une partie du répertoire reste ancrée dans la tradition de céramique de revêtement architecturale, comme les motifs « au pochoir », tandis que se rencontre les styles saz et şukufe. L’introduction du rouge est visible pour la première fois dans le décor de céramique de la Suleymaniye (achevée en 1559) et donne un repère pour dater les vaisselles qui portent cette couleur. C’est la période d’apogée où les grands chantiers se succèdent et donnent lieu à des programmes décoratifs uniques, dans lesquels les revêtements de céramique répondent aux décors peints (kalem işi) ou au décor extérieur sculpté dans la pierre : mosquée de Rüstem Paşa (vers 1561), mosquée de Sokollu Mehmed Paşa (1572), mausolées de Roxelane (1558), Soliman le Magnifique (1566), ou Selim II (1572).

Les décors de céramique tout comme le style architectural ottoman qui s’impose dans les villes de province sont autant d’échos de l’évolution des formes et du goût qui se répand depuis la capitale de l’Empire vers les provinces. Les décors des monuments d’Antalya, d’Alep ou de Diyarbakir furent exécutés localement par des artisans venus d’Iznik. On y retrouve la palette caractéristique des productions d’Iznik mais avec de légères différences : une symétrie moins stricte, un carroyage moins régulier, un gabarit différent des carreaux, une glaçure de moindre qualité.

A Damas, une production plus originale et néanmoins influencée par le répertoire décoratif des carreaux d’Iznik voit le jour peu après la rénovation du Dôme du Rocher. Il est possible qu’une partie des artisans qui avait oeuvré à la restauration de ce monument prestigieux se soit implantée à Damas, y exécutant les carreaux destinés aux fondations pieuses bâties pour Soliman le Magnifique ou de hauts dignitaires ottomans comme la mosquée de Soliman le Magnifique construite par Sinan vers 1550-54. On y rencontre pour la première fois des décors de céramique inspirés des réalisations stambouliotes mais dans une palette qui restera par la suite la marque de la production damascène : bleu turquoise, vert de chrome, brun aubergine. Cette palette damascène, qui est aussi celle de la vaisselle d’Iznik des années 1540 et 1550, est déjà connue à l’époque mamelouke. Cependant, les artisans de Damas ont aussi conservé le goût pour des décors tracés en noir sous une glaçure colorée turquoise, héritage de l’époque médiévale adapté à un répertoire décoratif proprement ottoman. La technologie de ces carreaux, désignés à Damas par le terme  « qishani », dérivé du nom de la ville iranienne de Kashan, prolonge celle des carreaux de l’époque mamelouke. La fabrication de la pâte siliceuse suit les recettes connues depuis l’époque médiévale et les glaçures restent majoritairement alcalines et sujettes à craquelures.


Plat à décor tuğrakeş spiralé Plat à décor tuğrakeş spiralé
Ucad 5592
© RMN / Berizzi
Plat au paon Plat au paon
K 3449
© RMN / Berizzi
Chope à décor floral Chope à décor floral
OA 6323
© RMN / Berizzi
Récipient à couvercle Récipient à couvercle
OA 7880/101
© RMN / Berizzi
Coupe aux œillets Coupe aux œillets
OA 6325
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Plat à décor épigraphique Plat à décor épigraphique
OA 6321
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault
Deux carreaux à décor de cyprès et de fleurs Deux carreaux à décor de cyprès et de fleurs
Ucad 17351
© Musée du Louvre / C. Tabbagh
Deux panneaux de revêtement au rosier et aux tulipes Deux panneaux de revêtement au rosier et aux tulipes
Ucad 5972 b
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / E. Revault
Inscription poétique Inscription poétique
Ucad 8377
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / E. Revault
Carreau aux tiges fleuries ondulantes Carreau aux tiges fleuries ondulantes
Ucad 10539
© Musée du Louvre / C. Tabbagh
Paire d'écoinçons aux roses et tulipes Paire d'écoinçons aux roses et tulipes
OA 3959/52, OA 3959/53
© 2007 Musée du Louvre / Chipault