Biblical tradition

Although the tale of the tower of Babel in Genesis (11: 1–9) largely contributed to Babylon’s fame, the historical and prophetic books of the Bible basically focus on the history of the deportation of the Hebrews to Babylon by Nebuchadnezzar II (Nabû-kudurri-usur) after the fall and subsequent destruction of Jerusalem in 597 and 587 BC. “By the waters of Babylon, there we sat down and wept, when we remembered Zion,” says Psalm 137, the song of exile, describing the Hebrews’ captivity. The second book of Kings, like the book of Chronicles, was composed during this exile, and the prophecies of Jeremiah and Ezekiel were written in the goal of making the chosen people realize that Babylon was a symbol of God’s anger at his unfaithful people.

The curse uttered by Jeremiah expresses the attraction felt even by enemies of the great city. “Babylon was a golden cup in the Lord’s hand, making all the earth drunken; the nations drank of her wine, therefore the nations went mad (Jer. 51: 7)…. At the sound of the capture of Babylon the earth shall tremble, and her cry shall be heard among the nations” (Jer. 50: 46). Jeremiah lucidly analyzed the political situation and the relations between Babylon and the kingdom of Judah. Ezekiel, a priest from the Temple of Jerusalem, also lived in Babylon, and in addition to historical recollections discernible through his prophecies and anathemas against the king of Babylonia, he conveyed some real information about the refined level of Babylonian society. Isaiah, meanwhile, preached between 550 and 520 BC, during the reign of Nabonidus (Nabu-na’id, the last king of the Neo-Babylonian dynasty) and the concomitant rise of the Persian empire; he predicted the fall of Babylon, the return of the exiles, and the restoration of Jerusalem.

Less ancient accounts were historically less specific due not only to the time gap, but also to deliberate policy: they tended to turn the age-old adversary into an archetype of extravagant excess and the enemy of the elect. The start of the Book of Daniel recounts the edifying life of Daniel, a soothsayer in Babylon during the exile, yet attributes the actions of Nabonidus to Nebuchadnezzar. The book can probably be dated to the second century BC but the author borrows from older traditions, notably providing information on the soothsayers who interpreted the king of Babylon’s dream. Nebuchadnezzar thereby became a mythical figure, a symbol of the historical enemy.

In the first century AD, a link was made between Babylon and Rome, the latter having destroyed the Temple of Jerusalem in the year 70. John’s Book of Revelation predicts the fall of this new Babylon, and the metaphor of Babylon as the cursed city became a one of the leitmotifs of the Babylonian legend.


Classical tradition

Classical Greek and Latin writers, all posterior to the heyday of Babylon during the Neo-Babylonian empire and the reign of Nebuchadnezzar II, described a legendary Babylon. Although their historical information was therefore distorted, their writings helped German archaeologists in the early twentieth century to orient themselves in the immense, difficult site, thanks to information on the layout of the city.

Herodotus (c. 485–420 BC), in his History (I: 178–186), described the city less than one hundred years after the fall of the Neo-Babylonian dynasty, during Persian domination. People were still writing Akkadian in cuneiform, and Babylonian learning—sustained by so-called “Chaldean” scholars—was at its height. Herodotus mentioned the city walls as well as the religious complex dedicated to Marduk and the rites held there. He described the course of the Euphrates, the network of streets, and the water system. He delivered information on Babylonian geography, habits, institutions, and daily life. Herodotus may never have visited Babylonia, but he based his account on information from ancient travelers and Babylonians who knew the city in its days of splendor, prior to the ravages caused by Xerxes I in 482 BC. Although Herodotus provided some reliable historical data, he also introduced the first elements of the legends to come, notably the characters of Sardanapalus (a blend of the historical figures of Ashurbanipal of Assyria and his brother Shamas-shum-ukin, who reigned over Babylon), Semiramis, and Nitocris (alias Nebuchadnezzar II).

The Babylon legend was handed down from generation to generation, based on second- or third-hand sources. In the Hellenistic period there arose the tradition of the “wonders of the world,” in which Babylon featured significantly thanks to its walls, its bridge over the Euphrates, and its hanging gardens. Although acclaim for the city’s defenses was initially greater than its gardens, it was the latter that tradition consecrated in the canonical list of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. As Babylon continued to decline, only the hanging gardens, draped over the walls, survived.

More recent authors reported even more ancient traditions, especially Ctesias of Cnidos, who was physician to the Persian king Artaxerxes II in the early fourth century BC and whose original text (Persicha) is now lost. In the first century BC, Diodorus Siculus, in his Bibliotheca Historica (II: 7–11), took his information on Babylon from Ctesias. Some of the major buildings he described were still those built by Nebuchadnezzar II in the early sixth century BC. Diodorus referred in particular to the fortress walls and the palace with its decoration of glazed bricks and hanging gardens. Strabo (c. 58 BC – 20 AD), described Babylon with its fortress and hanging gardens as one of the Seven Wonders in his Geography (16, I: 5). Quintus Curtius Rufus, in the first century AD, wrote a Life of Alexander in which he notably mentioned the bridge over the Euphrates and the hanging gardens (V: 1). Other writers included Pliny the Elder (Natural History, VI), the Greek historian Arrian (Anabasis, VII: 17), and the Roman historian Justin (Epitome, I). Ammianus Marcellinus, who accompanied the emperor Julian on his expedition against the Persians in 363 AD, recounted the legend of the building of great Babylon in his Rerum Gestarum Libri (XXIII: 6).

In the early third century BC, Berosus, a priest of Marduk in Babylon, established a link between Babylonian sources and classical sources. He wrote, in Greek, a history of his country titled Babyloniaka, dedicated to Antiochos I; only “fragments” or “accounts” of it exist, notably recorded by Flavius Josephus (first century AD), Abydenus (second century), Eusebius of Caesarea, and Clement of Alexandria (fourth century) based on a compilation by Alexander Polyhistor (fourth century). Berosus’s book three, discussed by Eusebius in his Chronicle, provided a chronology of the kings who reigned over Babylon from Tiglath-pileser III, king of Assyria (late eighth century BC), to Alexander the Great. Berosus translated “the archives that had been kept with great care by the priests of Babylon for a very long time […] and these archives contain the history of the heaven and earth, including the original creation and the kings, plus the deeds accomplished during their reigns” (Fragments, I: 1). When these features are compared with Babylonian chronicles, they indeed reveal the latter to be their source.

In the early second century AD, Ptolemy (Claudius Ptolemaeus) drew up a list of the kings of Babylon, called Ptolemy’s Canon, beginning with the reign of Nabonassar in the eighth century BC. This royal list was based on Berosus, as was Ptolemy’s history of Babylonian astronomical observations. Ptolemy’s work was the dominant source of medieval and Renaissance learning.

La tradition biblique

Bien que l’épisode de la tour de Babel dans la Genèse (Gn 11: 1-9) ait grandement contribué à la célébrité de Babylon, les récits des livres historiques et prophétiques sont centrés essentiellement sur l’épisode de la déportation des Hébreux à Babylone, par Nabuchodonosor II (Nabû-kudurri-usur) après la prise, puis la destruction de Jérusalem en 597 et 587 av. J.-C. : “ Au bord des fleuves de Babylone, nous étions assis et nous pleurions, nous souvenant de Sion ”, dit le “ Chant de l’exilé ” (Ps. 137), évoquant la captivité. Le 2e Livre des Rois composé au temps de l’Exil (puis celui des Chroniques), et les prophéties de Jérémie et d’Ezéchiel furent rédigés dans le but de faire comprendre au peuple élu que Babylone était l'instrument de la colère de Dieu contre son peuple infidèle.
La malédiction lancée par Jérémie, exprime l’attirance que même les ennemis de la grande ville éprouvaient à son égard : “ Babylone était une coupe d'or aux mains de Yahvé, elle enivrait la terre entière, les nations s'abreuvaient de son vin c'est pourquoi elles devenaient folles. ... Au bruit de la chute de Babylone, la terre tremble, un cri se fait entendre parmi les nations. ” (Jr, 51). Jérémie analyse la situation politique, les relations entre Babylone et le royaume de Juda, avec lucidité. Ezéchiel, prêtre du temple de Jérusalem, a vécu en Babylonie. Outre des souvenirs historiques, discernables au milieu des présages et des anathèmes contre le roi de Babylone, il transmet quelques informations sur le niveau de raffinement de la société babylonienne. Isaïe (le second) prophétise entre 550 et 520 av. J.-C., sous le règne de Nabonide (Nabu-na’id), dernier roi de la dynastie néo-babylonienne, et au début de l'empire perse. Il prophétise la chute de Babylone, le retour des exilés et la restauration de Jérusalem.
Les récits plus récents sont historiquement moins précis non seulement en raison de de l'éloignement dans le temps, mais aussi de façon délibérée. En effet, ils tendent à faire de l'adversaire de toujours l'archétype de l'ennemi du peuple élu et de la démesure. Le début du Livre de Daniel raconte la vie édifiante de Daniel, devin à Babylone au temps de l'exil. Il attribue à Nabuchodonosor des actes de Nabonide. Le livre est à dater probablement du IIe siècle av. J.C., mais l’auteur emprunte à des traditions plus anciennes; il donne notamment des informations sur les devins qui interprètent un rêve du roi de Babylone. Nabuchodonosor devint ainsi un personnage mythique, le symbole de l'ennemi historique.
Au Ier siècle de notre ère, a lieu l'assimilation de Babylone avec Rome, responsable de la destruction du temple de Jérusalem en 70. L'Apocalypse de Jean annonce la chute de cette nouvelle Babylone et la métaphore de Babylone, la ville maudite, devitnun des leitmotive du mythe de Babylone.

La tradition classique

Des auteurs classiques, grecs et latins, tous postérieurs à l’apogée de Babylone sous l'empire néo-babylonien et le règne de Nabuchodonosor II, ont décrit une Babylone de légende. Bien que les informations d'ordre historique, soient déformées, leurs écrits ont cependant guidé les archéologues allemands, au début de ce siècle, pour se repérer dans l'immensité et la difficulté du site. Ils fournissent des informations sur la topographie de la ville.
Hérodote (env. 485-420 av. J.-C), dans ses Histoires (I, 178-186), décrit la ville moins de cent ans après la chute de la dynastie néo-babylonienne, pendant la domination perse. On y écrit encore en akkadien cunéiforme et la science babylonienne des savants dits “ Chaldéens ” est à son apogée. Il évoque les murailles d'enceinte, le complexe cultuel de Marduk et les cérémonies qui s'y déroulaient, décrit le cours de l'Euphrate, le réseau des rues et les travaux hydrauliques. Il livre des informations sur la géographie, les mœurs, les institutions et la vie quotidienne des Babyloniens. Hérodote n’a peut-être pas visité la Babylonie, mais il se fonde sur des récits de voyageurs anciens ou les témoignages de Babyloniens ayant connu la ville au temps de sa splendeur, avant les dommages causés par Xerxès I en 482 av. J.-C. S’il rapporte des informations historiques dignes de foi, il introduit cependant les premiers éléments de légendes à venir, notamment celles de Sardanapale (un mélange des personnalités d’Assurbanipal d’Assyrie et de son frère Shamash-shum-ukin, qui régna sur Babylone), de Sémiramis et de Nitocris (alias Nabuchodonosor II).
La légende de Babylone se transmit de génération en génération, reposant sur des sources de second ou de troisième degré. A l’époque hellénistique, naît la tradition des « merveilles du monde », parmi lesquelles Babylone occupe une place de choix, avec ses murailles, son pont sur l’Euphrate et ses jardins suspendus. Les jardins fabuleux constituent une tradition moins unanime à l’origine que les défenses de la ville, mais ce sont eux que la tradition a conservés dans la liste canonique des Sept Merveilles du Monde antique. Babylone poursuivant son déclin, seul le jardin, situé sur le mur, subsista.
Les auteurs récents, rapportent des traditions plus anciennes et surtout celle de Ctésias de Cnide, qui fut médecin du roi Perse Artaxerxès II, au début du IVe siècle av. J.-C. et dont l'œuvre originale (Persika) est perdue. Diodore de Sicile, dans sa Bibliothèque historique (II, 7-11), au Ier siècle av. J.-C., emprunte ses renseignements sur Babylone à Ctésias. Certains grands monuments qu’il décrit sont encore ceux qui furent construits par Nabuchodonosor II, au début du VIe siècle av. J.C. Il parle plus particulièrement des murs d'enceinte et du palais, avec ses décors de briques émaillées, et des jardins suspendus.
Strabon (vers 58 av. -20 ap. J.-C), dans sa Géographie (16, I: 5), décrit Babylone et son enceinte comme une des sept merveilles du monde, ainsi que le jardin suspendu. Quinte Curce, au Ier siècle de notre ère, dans l’Histoire d'Alexandre (V, 1), parle notamment du pont sur l’Euphrate et des jardins suspendus. On peut encore citer Pline l'Ancien (Histoire Naturelle, VI), l’historien grec Arrien (Anabase, VII, 17); ou encore l'historien latin Justin (Histoire universelle, I). Ammien Marcellin qui accompagne l'empereur Julien dans son expédition contre les Perses, en l'an 363 de notre ère, rapporte la légende de la construction de la grande Babylone dans ses Rerum gestarum (XXIII, 6). Au début du IIIe siècle av. J.-C., Bérose, un prêtre de Marduk à Babylone, réalise le lien entre les sources babyloniennes et les sources classiques. Il écrivit en grec une histoire de son pays, nommée Babyloniaca (ou Chaldaica), dédiée à Antiochos Ier et dont il ne reste que des "fragments" ou des "relations", faites notamment par Flavius Josèphe (Ier siècle), Abydène (IIe siècle), Eusèbe de Césarée, ou Clément d'Alexandrie (IVe siècle), à partir d’une compilation d’Alexandre Polyhistor (Ier siècle). Son livre III de Bérose, repris par Eusèbe de Césarée, dans sa Chronique, donne une chronologie des rois qui ont régné sur Babylone, depuis Teglat-Phalasar III, roi d'Assyrie (à la fin du VIIIe siècle av. J.-C.), jusqu'à Alexandre le Grand. Bérose traduisit “ les archives qui avaient été gardées avec grand soin par les prêtres de Babylone depuis une longue période ...et ces archives contiennent l'histoire du ciel et de la terre, de la première création et des rois, ainsi que les actes accomplis sous leurs règnes ” (Fragmenta I,1). Des éléments que l'on peut mettre en parallèle avec les chroniques babyloniennes, montrent qu'elles sont ses sources.
Au début du IIe siècle de notre ère, Ptolémée (Claudius Ptolemaus), dressa une liste des rois de Babylone appelée le “ Canon de Ptolémée ”. Il commence par le règne de Nabonassar, au VIIIe siècle av. J.-C. Cette liste royale s'inspire de l'œuvre de Bérose, de même que son histoire des observations astronomiques babyloniennes. Son œuvre domina les connaissances du Moyen âge et de la Renaissance.