In the years between 908 and 811 BC, Babylonia was in regular contact with Assyria. Then the Assyrians invaded Babylonia and successively overthrew two kings. The country descended into anarchy. During the eighth century BC, Chaldean kings originating from three different Semitic tribes to the west alternately occupied the Babylonian throne whose subjects were Chaldean, Aramaean, Arabic, and Babylonian peoples. Shortly after the mid eighth century, Assyria rose again under the reign of Tiglath-pileser III, who launched a series of conquests. His aggressive policy was imitated by the next five occupants of the Assyrian throne.

Relations between Assyria and Babylonia were ambivalent. The former clearly venerated the older, more advanced Babylonian civilization, being envious of the ancientness of its cities and religious rites and its supremacy in the fields of learning and literature; on a political level, however, Assyria was wary of Babylonia, composed of a mixed population and headed by kings stemming alternately from rival interest groups. After 731 BC, Assyria decided to administer Babylonia directly, installing its choice of king on the throne, who would nevertheless be regularly overthrown by rebellions led by the Chaldeans, who then installed kings of their own choosing.

Finally, the Assyrian monarch Sennacherib (704–681 BC), irritated by the assassination of the crown prince, whom he had placed on the throne of Babylon, re-invaded the capital in 689 BC. His soldiers sacked the city, destroyed its main buildings, and altered the course of the Euphrates so that it flooded Babylon, turning the capital into a veritable marshland. The statues of gods were taken back to Assyria and kept there. The Babylonians were crushed by the destruction of their capital and religious center. When Sennacherib was assassinated eight years later by one of his own sons, the Assyrians themselves admitted that the torment was unleashed by gods unhappy with their king’s sacrilegious behavior toward Babylon.

Back in Babylon, the constant change of kings came to an end. After the death of Sennacherib, his son Esarhaddon (680–669 BC) reigned over both Assyria and Babylonia, and he rebuilt Babylon. Esarhaddon divided his royal domains between his two sons: Ashurbanipal (668–631 BC) inherited the throne of Assyria, while Shamash-shum-ukin (667–648 BC) inherited Babylonia. Since Ashurbanipal curbed his brother’s power, Shamash-shum-ukin gathered a coalition of Chaldeans, Aramaeans, citizens of Northern Babylonia, Elamites, and Arabs, then triggered a civil war that divided the kingdom of Assyria, which continued to weaken until Ashurbanipal died. Taking advantage of the succession crisis, Nabopolassar, a figure of obscure origin probably from the province of the “land-by-the-sea” (on the Persian Gulf), seized power in Babylon in 626 BC and had himself proclaimed king. In subsequent years, Nabopolassar fought the Assyrians with his allies, the Medes. Nineveh fell in 612, and the Assyrian empire crumbled. In the fall of 605 BC, Nebuchadnezzar II inherited Babylonia on the death of his father and went to war against the Egyptians and Arabs. Babylonian hegemony over Syria-Palestine was complete by the early sixth century BC.


Nebuchadnezzar II (605–562 BC)

Two-thirds of the existence of the Neo-Babylonian empire was spent under a single reign, that of Nebuchadnezzar II, who occupied the throne for forty-three years (605–562 BC). The king of Babylon’s ambitions were not just territorial but also civic and artistic—his conquests and imperial income provided him with the resources to carry out such plans. Booty from conquered cities and Nebuchadnezzar’s policy of deporting the inhabitants (notably intellectuals and specialized artisans) enabled the king to launch major construction programs and provided him with the cheap labor essential to the task. Nebuchadnezzar II was the builder of the grand, magnificent Babylon often mentioned in the Bible. His Babylon was also the lavish city described by Herodotus.

His concern to defend Babylon and Babylonia from all attack obliged Nebuchadnezzar II to reinforce the city’s defensive system, spurring his architects to carry out grandiose projects: the city was placed within a terrific defensive network consisting of two sets of walls that created a stronghold admired and dreaded by his enemies. The inner walls were punctuated by eight gates, including the Gate of Ishtar, rebuilt several times during Nebuchadnezzar’s reign, becoming a symbol of Babylon’s power and magnificence—Marduk’s religious procession passed through this gate. To these formidable walls Nebuchadnezzar added, on the vulnerable north side of Babylon, two large bastions—one on the Euphrates, along the west side of the southern palace, and another outside the city to north, between the Gate of Ishtar and the river.
Nebuchadnezzar II had three palaces in Babylon, all located to the east of the Euphrates, on its left bank, in the northern part of the city. The “grand,” or northernmost, palace was set on a large terrace structure, suggesting that the “hanging gardens” took the form of a terraced slope descending to the river, bordered by a park.

In the heart of Babylon, near the Euphrates, was located the most important religious complex in the kingdom: the sanctuary of Marduk, the supreme god. It was composed of two architectural units, including the notorious Etemenanki tower, the “house that is the foundation of heaven and earth.” This site still stirs people’s imaginations today, and is considered to be the Biblical setting for the Tower of Babel (Genesis 11: 1–9). German archaeological digs have demonstrated that it was indeed the tower described in historical texts.

In addition to the major construction work carried out in the religious complex dedicated to Marduk, Nebuchadnezzar II restored several important temples. Eight of them, including the ziggurat, have been found through excavations on the east bank of the river, while eight other temples have been approximately located thanks to topographic data and to contracts that provide precise information on houses and property sold in the vicinity of the temples.

At his death in 562 BC, Nebuchadnezzar II bequeathed his successors an empire stretching across Mesopotamia and the Levant; he apparently had five sons, and his succession led to several years of instability. It was Amel-Marduk (556-554 BC) who succeeded his father, but his brief reign ended with a plot that brought his brother-in-law, Neriglissar, to the throne. The latter’s short reign is known only for a campaign in Cilicia; on his death in 556 BC, his son Labashi-Marduk acceded to the throne only to fall three months later in another palace plot that brought to power a certain Nabonidus, probably from Harran in northern Syria and of Assyro-Aramaean background. The Harranian origins of his family explain his devotion to the moon-god, Sin. Nabonidus apparently concluded an alliance with Cyrus; the Persians went to war against the Medes while Nabonidus left on campaign in Arabia. There he settled in the oasis of Tayma where he allegedly built a replica of his palace in Babylon. The king’s stay in Tayma is not only recounted in Babylonian sources, but also left strong traces in Jewish tradition. The book of Daniel’s theme of the madness of Nebuchadnezzar—changed into an animal who wandered the steppes—is a legend inspired by Nabonidus’s expatriation.

On returning to Babylon in the autumn of 543 BC, Nabonidus began promoting worship of the moon-god, thus provoking the ire of priests of the god Marduk. During the summer of 539 BC the Babylonians expected a major Persian offensive—Nabonidus had the statues of the kingdoms main gods sent to the capital to protect them from potential capture. The anticipated invasion occurred in early October. The Babylonian armies were crushed at Opis (Upi), not far from today’s Baghdad; when the Persian army entered Babylon on October 12th, the history of ancient Babylonia as an autonomous political entity came to an end.

De 908 à 811 av. J.-C. environ, la Babylonie établit des contacts soutenus avec l’Assyrie.
Puis, les Assyriens envahissent la Babylonie et destituent successivement deux rois. Le pays sombre dans l’anarchie. Au cours du VIIIe siècle, des rois chaldéens issus de trois tribus différentes de Sémites de l’Ouest et des souverains babyloniens occupent en alternance le trône de Babylonie composée de peuples chaldéens, araméens, arabes et babyloniens.
Peu après le milieu du VIIIe siècle, l’Assyrie se redresse sous le règne de Teglat-phalasar III qui se lance dans un programme de conquêtes, politique que poursuivent les cinq occupants suivants du trône assyrien.
Les relations entre l’Assyrie et la Babylonie sont ambiguës. La première vénère certes la civilisation plus ancienne et plus avancée qu’est la Babylonie, lui enviant l’antériorité de ses villes et de ses cultes religieux et sa suprématie dans les domaines du savoir et de la littérature ; en revanche, sur le plan politique, l’Assyrie se méfie de ce pays, constitué d’un mélange de population, dirigé par des rois issus alternativement de groupes d’intérêt rivaux. Après 731 av. J.-C., l’Assyrie décide d’administrer directement la Babylonie et installe sur le trône des rois à sa convenance, successivement renversés par des révoltes menées par les Chaldéens, qui installent à leur place des rois de leur choix.
Enfin, le monarque assyrien Sennachérib (704-681), irrité par le meurtre du prince héritier, qu’il avait placé sur le trône de Babylone, reprend la ville en 689. Ses soldats pillent le site, détruisent les principaux édifices et dévient le cours de l’affluent de l’Euphrate de manière inonder la ville qui devient un véritable marécage ; les statues des dieux sont transférées et conservées en Assyrie. Les Babyloniens sont anéantis par la destruction de leur capitale et de leur centre cultuel ; lorsque Sennachérib est assassiné huit ans plus tard par l’un de ses fils, les Assyriens eux-mêmes expriment le tourment que leur cause la colère des dieux provoquée par le comportement sacrilège de leur roi vis-à-vis de Babylone.
À Babylone, la valse incessante des rois cesse ; après la mort de Sennachérib, son fils Asarhaddon (680-669) règne sur l’Assyrie et la Babylonie et reconstruit Babylone. Asarhaddon partage ses fonctions royales entre deux de ses fils : Assurbanipal (668-631) qui reçoit le trône d’Assyrie et Shamash-shum-ukin (667-648) celui de Babylonie. Assurbanipal limite le pouvoir de son frère ; Shamash-shum-ukin constitue alors une vaste coalition de Chaldéens, Araméens, citadins du nord de la Babylonie, Élamites et Arabes et déclenche une guerre civile, qui divise le royaume d’Assyrie et l’affaiblit jusqu’à la mort d’Assurbanipal.
Profitant de la crise de succession, Nabopolassar, un personnage de souche obscure probablement originaire de la Province du Pays-de-la-Mer, (région bordant le Golfe Persique), s’empare du pouvoir à Babylone en 626 et s’y fait proclamer roi. Pendant les années qui suivent, Nabopolassar et ses alliés les Mèdes combattent les Assyriens. Ninive tombe en 612 et l’empire assyrien s’écroule. En automne 605, Nabuchodonosor II hérite de la Babylonie à la mort de son père et repart au combat contre les Egyptiens et les Arabes. L’hégémonie babylonienne sur la Syrie-Palestine est un fait acquis au début du VIe siècle.

Nabuchodonosor II (605-562 avant J.-C.)

Les deux tiers de la durée de vie de l'empire néo-babylonien sont occupés par un seul règne, celui de Nabuchodonosor II, qui occupe le trône pendant 43 ans (605-562 avant J.-C.). Les ambitions monarchiques du roi de Babylone sont non seulement territoriales, mais également édilitaires et artistiques : ses conquêtes et la richesse de l'empire lui en fournissent les moyens ; le butin des villes conquises et sa politique de déportation des populations - notamment des intellectuels et les artisans spécialisés -, permettent au roi de lancer de grands programmes de construction et lui fournissent, à modeste prix, la main d'œuvre indispensable aux travaux. Nabuchodonosor est le constructeur de la grande et magnifique Babylone à laquelle la Bible fait de nombreuses allusions. Il est aussi celui de la Babylone somptueuse décrite par Hérodote.
Son souci de défendre Babylone et la Babylonie contre toute attaque possible oblige Nabuchodonosor à renforcer l'appareil défensif de la ville, ce qui inspire à ses architectes des réalisations grandioses ; la ville est enclose dans un formidable système défensif, consistant en deux enceintes qui en font une place-forte redoutée et admirée par ses ennemis ; les murailles internes sont percées de huit portes, dont la porte d’Ishtar, reconstruite plusieurs fois au cours du règne de Nabuchodonosor et qui devint l'un des symboles de la puissance de Babylone et de sa magnificence ; à travers elle, passait la voie processionnelle de Marduk. A ces formidables murailles, Nabuchodonosor ajoute, au Nord, à l'endroit le plus vulnérable de Babylone, deux grands bastions, un sur l'Euphrate le long du côté ouest du palais sud et un autre au nord, en dehors du mur de la ville, entre la porte d'Ishtar et la rivière. Nabuchodonosor possédait trois palais à Babylone, tous situés à l’est de l’Euphrate, sur sa rive gauche, et dans la partie nord de la ville ; pour construire le « Grand Palais » (palais Nord), Nabuchodonosor fit bâtir une grande structure en terrasse ; il est possible que des “ jardins suspendus ”  aient pris la forme de gradins descendant en paliers successifs jusqu’au fleuve, bordé par un parc.
Au cœur de Babylone, près du cours de l’Euphrate, se trouvait le complexe cultuel le plus important du royaume : le sanctuaire du dieu suprême Marduk, formé de deux ensembles architecturaux, dont la fameuse tour à étages Etemenanki, la « maison, fondement du ciel et de la terre ». C’est ce lieu qui nourrit encore aujourd’hui l’imagination des hommes, et qui est considéré comme le cadre biblique de la construction de la Tour de Babel (Genèse 11, 1-9). Les fouilles archéologiques allemandes ont démontré qu’il s’agit bien ici de la tour décrite dans les sources historiques.
Outre de grands travaux d’aménagement dans le complexe cultuel de Marduk, Nabuchodonosor II restaura plusieurs temples importants : huit temples, dont la ziggurat, ont été retrouvés par les fouilles, sur la rive Est du fleuve et huit autres temples sont localisés approximativement grâce aux données des textes topographiques et des contrats qui livrent des données précises pour les maisons ou les biens vendus, près des temples.
A sa mort, survenue en 562, Nabuchodonosor II lègue à ses successeurs un empire s’étendant sur la Mésopotamie et le Levant ; sa succession (il aurait eu cinq fils) entraîne une période d’instabilité qui dure plusieurs années ; c’est Amel-Marduk qui succède à son père (556-554) mais son court règne se termine par une conjuration au terme de laquelle un certain Nériglissar, son beau-frère, s’empare du trône ; ce dernier connaît un règne court dont le seul événement connu reste une campagne en Cilicie ; à sa mort en 556, son fils Labashi- Marduk monte sur le trône mais succombe trois mois plus tard à une autre conjuration de palais qui porte au pouvoir un certain Nabonide, probablement originaire d’Harran en Syrie du nord et d’ascendance culturelle assyro-araméenne. Les origines harraniennes de sa famille expliquent sa dévotion pour le dieu lune Sin. Nabonide conclut, semble-t-il, une alliance avec Cyrus ; une guerre éclate entre les Perses et les Mèdes tandis que Nabonide part en campagne en Arabie ; il s’établit dans l’oasis de Tayma où il aurait construit une réplique du palais de Babylone ; le séjour du roi à Tayma est relaté non seulement par les sources babyloniennes, mais il laissa aussi un souvenir tenace dans la tradition juive. Le motif de la folie de Nabuchodonosor changé en bête et errant dans la steppe, que l’on retrouve dans le livre de Daniel, n’est qu’une légende inspirée par l’exil de Nabonide.
Revenu à Babylone à l’automne 543, Nabonide s’occupe de promouvoir le culte du dieu-Lune, provoquant ainsi la colère des clercs du dieu Marduk. Durant l’été 539, les Babyloniens s’attendent à une offensive perse d’envergure : Nabonide fait envoyer les statues des principaux dieux du royaume vers la capitale pour les protéger d’une capture éventuelle. L’invasion attendue a lieu au début octobre. Les armées babyloniennes sont écrasées à Opis non loin de l’actuelle Baghdad, et le 12 octobre l’armée perse entre à Babylone, mettant un terme à l’histoire de l’antique Babylonie comme entité politique autonome.