The Kassites

Around 1595 BC, following a raid by Hittites from Anatolia, the first surviving allusion to kings of Babylon concerns members of the Kassite dynasty. The Kassites, a tribal people of unknown origin who had been present in the land in small numbers at least since the reign of Hammurabi’s son, Samsu-iluna (1749–1712 BC), had become peaceful farmers and loyal soldiers after an initial period of hostile behavior. The Kassites would rule Babylon for over 400 years. Official inscriptions usually only mention the construction of temples and palaces and the gods to whom these buildings were dedicated. In Babylon itself, archaeological traces of the Kassite period are rare. Their military history is known only through a few references in scattered documents, and it is primarily the archives of foreign countries that provide information on the history of their international relations.

Little is known about the early Kassite dynasty. Its rule was apparently limited to the northern and middle parts of the Babylonian kingdom until roughly 1475 BC, when the southern part came under the control of Prince Ulam-Buriash—brother of King Kashtiliashu III—who gave himself the title of “king of the land of the sea” (nothing indicates that he ruled over Babylon itself). The subsequent unification of Babylonia put an end to rivalries between city-states and gave birth to a political model that survived for as long as the kingdom remained independent. Political stability was further reinforced by the maintenance of royal power in the hands of the same family for over 200 years, accompanied by military superiority over neighboring countries thanks to innovative chariot technology combined with traditional know-how in raising horses, two factors crucial to warfare in the late Bronze Age. The Kassites also established a hierarchical system for the administration and taxation of provinces that would last, with just a few minor changes, for over 800 years.

After obscure beginnings, around 1400 BC the Kassite dynasty attained international scope. Kassite kings established diplomatic relations with Egypt, Hatti (in Anatolia), Assyria, and Elam, reinforcing these relations by arranging marriages with other royal families. Babylonia became part of a vast trade network that extended from the Aegean Sea to Afghanistan and to the southern Persian Gulf. Babylonian textiles, horses, and chariots were sold westward, while luxury items such as lapis-lazuli arrived from the east. Babylonian merchants traveled through Syria and Palestine, and Babylonian cylinder seals have been found as far as Thebes in Greece. In payment, Babylon amassed large quantities of precious metals, especially gold.

Babylonia also enjoyed a cultural renaissance under the Kassite dynasty. Although foreign in origin, the Kassites respected local culture and religious practices. They built temples to traditional gods and basically promoted the use of the Sumerian and Akkadian languages in written documents. Schools for scribes continued to function, notably at Nippur and Ur; many of the major families of scribes of the first millennium BC date back to the fifteenth or fourteenth century BC. The Babylonian calendar and methods of reckoning time were refined and simplified. Babylonian doctors were highly appreciated abroad as well as at home. Local craftsmen were pioneers in the realm of glass-making, then undergoing extensive development. They also explored new artistic forms for stelae (such as kudurru documenting land granted by kings) and for carved gems. Artisans furthermore did much brick-carving for architectural decoration. Their artistic talents earned them an international reputation, so that in the thirteenth century BC the Hittite king Hattusilis III insisted that his Babylonian counterpart send him one of his sculptors.

The dynasty seems to have enjoyed its heyday from 1400 to 1225 BC. During that period King Kurigalzu I (circa 1385 BC) had a new, highly impressive stronghold built to the north of Babylon; called Dur-Kurigalzu, it was conceived as a second capital. Furthermore, the same king and his successors rebuilt or repaired the main temples in all the major cities of the kingdom.

Starting in 1225 BC, Babylonia’s fortunes waned. Assyria invaded the country, defeating and overthrowing King Kashtiliashu IV (1232–1225 BC). Taking advantage of this weakness, Elam attacked Nippur and Isin. Assyrians ran the central government. Within two decades, however, Babylonia recovered enough strength to defeat Assyria and intervene in its domestic affairs. Babylonia became prosperous again in the early twelfth century BC, notably during the reigns of Meli-Shipak (1186–1172 BC) and Marduk-apla-iddina I (1171–1159 BC), and commercial expeditions headed for Syria and the mountains to the northeast.

In 1158 BC, Assyria and Elam invaded the land, and the king of Elam overthrew the king of Babylonia. In a matter of years, the Kassite dynasty not only collapsed under the pressure of its neighbors, but was further humiliated by the confiscation of the sacred statue of its protective god, Marduk.


Nebuchadnezzar (1125–1104 BC) and Babylon at the end of the second millennium BC

With the collapse of the Kassite dynasty, Elamite armies ravaged Babylonia, notably in the north and east. A new local dynasty, initially arising from Isin in central Babylonia, slowly regained control of the region, if rather timidly at first. It then ruled for several decades in the shadow of Elam. This 2nd dynasty of Isin (1157–1026 BC) managed to take over Babylon, but its early military offensives against Elam and Assyria were unsuccessful.

The fourth king of the dynasty, Nebuchadnezzar I (1125–1104 BC), launched a surprise campaign and drove his troops deep into Elamite territory; defeating the Elamite king Hutelutush, he recovered possession of the cult statue of Marduk. This campaign and the return of the sacred statue to its temple represented a turning point in the history of Babylonia. Nebuchadnezzar I’s victory and the veneration of Marduk spawned numerous epics, hymns, and predictions, which the scribes would continue to copy for centuries to come.

Babylonia retained military superiority for the next quarter of a century, but the Assyrians soon became as powerful as their southern neighbors; under the dynamic reign of Tiglath-pileser I (1114–1076 BC), they invaded northern Babylonia and reached the capital. Shortly afterward, around 1080 BC, Babylonia and Assyria found themselves facing a new enemy, the Aramaeans, who poured into the two countries for over a century, sacking cities, looting temples, and cutting trade routes, including the one between Babylonia and Assyria.

les Kassites

Vers 1595, après un raid des Hittites venus d’Anatolie, les premiers rois de Babylone dont nous avons mention appartiennent à la dynastie kassite. Les Kassites – peuple tribal d’origine inconnue, présent en faible nombre dans le pays au moins depuis le règne du fils de Hammurabi, Samsu-Iluna (1749-1712) – sont devenus un peuple de soldats et d’ouvriers agricoles tranquilles après s’être comportés dans un premier temps en ennemis. Les Kassites règnent sur Babylone pendant plus de 400 ans. Les inscriptions officielles ne mentionnent le plus souvent que la construction de temples et de palais et des dédicaces aux dieux auxquels les édifices étaient consacrés. A Babylone même, les traces archéologiques de la période kassite sont rares. Leur histoire militaire n’est connue qu’au travers de quelques références dans des documents épars, et ce sont essentiellement les archives de pays étrangers qui nous renseignent sur l’histoire de leurs relations internationales.
Nous savons peu de chose des débuts de la dynastie kassite. Son règne semble s’être limité au nord et au centre de la Babylonie jusque vers 1475 av. J.-C., date à laquelle le sud du pays passa sous l’autorité du prince Ulam-Buriash – frère du roi Kashtiliashu III – , qui se donna le titre de « roi du Pays de la mer » (rien ne prouve qu’il ait régné sur Babylone même). L’unification politique qui s’ensuit en Babylonie met fin aux rivalités entre les cités-états et donne naissance à un modèle politique, qui subsiste tant que dure l’indépendance du royaume. La stabilité politique du pays se trouve en outre renforcée par le maintien du pouvoir royal entre les mains d’une seule et même famille pendant plus de 200 ans et une supériorité militaire par rapport aux pays limitrophes, accrue grâce à des innovations dans le domaine du charronnage et un traditionnel savoir-faire dans l’élevage des chevaux, deux facteurs cruciaux dans l’art de la guerre à la fin de l’Âge du Bronze. Les Kassites créent en outre, pour l’administration et l’imposition des provinces, un système hiérarchique qui perdure, moyennant quelques changements mineurs, plus de 800 ans.
Après des débuts obscurs, la dynastie kassite connaît vers 1400 av. J.-C. un rayonnement international. Les rois kassites établissent des relations diplomatiques avec l’Égypte, le Hatti (en Anatolie), l’Assyrie et l’Élam, et renforcent ces liens en arrangeant des mariages avec les autres familles royales. La Babylonie fait partie d’un vaste réseau commercial qui s’étend de la mer Égée à l’Afghanistan et au sud du Golfe persique. Les textiles, chevaux et chars babyloniens sont vendus à l’ouest de même que des articles de luxe en transit comme le lapis-lazuli. Les marchands babyloniens se rendent dans toute la Syrie et la Palestine, et des sceaux-cylindres babyloniens parviennent jusqu’à Thèbes en Grèce. Des métaux précieux – et tout particulièrement l’or – , arrivent en contrepartie massivement en Babylonie.
Sous la dynastie kassite, la Babylonie connaît une renaissance culturelle. Bien que d’origine étrangère, les Kassites respectent la culture et les pratiques religieuses des autochtones : ils font édifier des temples aux divinités traditionnelles et promeuvent essentiellement l’emploi du sumérien et de l’akkadien dans les documents écrits. Les écoles de scribes poursuivent leurs activités, notamment à Nippur et Ur ; parmi les grandes familles de scribes du premier millénaire av. J.-C., nombreuses sont celles qui remontent au XVe ou XIVe siècle. Le calendrier babylonien et les méthodes de décompte du temps sont repensés et simplifiés. Les médecins babyloniens sont très sollicités tant à l’étranger que dans le pays même. Les artisans locaux font figure de pionniers dans le domaine de la fabrication du verre, alors en plein développement ; ils expérimentent de nouvelles formes artistiques tant pour les stèles (tels les kudurru actant les terres données par les rois) que pour la glyptique ; les artisans pratiquent beaucoup la sculpture sur brique moulée pour les décors architecturaux. Ils acquièrent grâce à ce talent artistique une réputation internationale et, au xiiie siècle, le roi hittite Hattushili III demande instamment à son homologue babylonien de bien vouloir lui envoyer un de ses sculpteurs.
La dynastie semble avoir été à son apogée de 1400 à 1225. C’est au cours de cette période que le roi Kurigalzu 1er (vers 1385) fait construire au nord de Babylone une nouvelle ville fort impressionnante, Dur-Kurigalzu, conçue comme une seconde capitale. Ce roi et ses successeurs font en outre reconstruire ou réparer les principaux temples de toutes les grandes villes du royaume.
À partir de 1225, la Babylonie connaît un revers de fortune. L’Assyrie envahit le pays, vainc le roi Kashtiliashu IV (1232-1225) et le destitue. Profitant de l’affaiblissement du pays, l’Élam attaque Nippur et Isin. Le gouvernement central est confié à des Assyriens. En deux décennies, la Babylonie reprend cependant assez de force pour vaincre l’Assyrie et s’immiscer dans ses affaires intérieures. Au début du XIIe siècle, notamment sous le règne de Meli-Shipak (1186-1172) et de Marduk-apla-iddina 1er (1171-1159), le pays redevient prospère, et des expéditions commerciales reprennent en direction de la Syrie et des montagnes du nord-est.
En 1158, l’Assyrie et l’Élam envahissent le pays, et le roi d’Élam dépose le roi de Babylonie.En quelques années, la dynastie kassite non seulement s’effondre sous la pression de ses voisins, mais est en outre humiliée par la déportation en exil de la statue de culte de son dieu protecteur, Marduk.

Nabuchodonosor 1er (1125-1104 avant J.-C.) et Babylone à la fin du IIe millénaire avant J.-C.

Avec l’effondrement de la dynastie kassite les armées élamites ravagent le pays, et tout particulièrement le nord et l’est. Une nouvelle dynastie autochtone, installée initialement à Isin, en Babylonie centrale, commence lentement à prendre le contrôle de la région, mais tout d’abord de façon assez timide. Elle opère ensuite dans l’ombre de l’Élam pendant plusieurs décennies. Cette seconde dynastie d’Isin (1157-1026 av. J.-C.) s’empare de Babylone, mais ses premières offensives militaires contre l’Élam et l’Assyrie restent sans effet.
Nabuchodonosor 1er (1125-1104), le quatrième roi de la dynastie mène une campagne surprise et s’enfonce avec ses troupes dans le territoire élamite ; Nabuchodonosor défait le roi élamite Hutelutush et reprend possession de la statue de Marduk. Cette campagne et le retour de Marduk dans son temple marquent un tournant dans l’histoire de la Babylonie. Le triomphe de Nabuchodonosor et la vénération de Marduk donnent lieu à une multitude d’épopées, d’hymnes et de présages, que les scribes allaient continuer à copier pendant des centaines d’années.
Au cours du quart de siècle suivant, Babylone conserve sa supériorité militaire mais les Assyriens ne tardent pas à être au moins aussi puissants que leurs voisins du sud sous le règne du dynamique Teglath-Phalasar 1er (1114-1076), qui envahit le nord de la Babylonie dont la capitale. Peu de temps après, vers 1080, la Babylonie et l’Assyrie se trouvent toutes deux confrontées à un nouvel ennemi : les Araméens –et ce pendant plus d’un siècle - affluent en Babylonie et en Assyrie, mettant à sac les villes, pillant les temples et coupant les routes commerciales, y compris celle entre la Babylonie et l’Assyrie.