When Hammurabi became king in 1792 BC, Babylon was a middle-ranking power surrounded by three more powerful political entities, namely the kingdoms of Larsa, Eshnunna, and Northern Mesopotamia.

To the southeast stretched the kingdom of Larsa, which had enjoyed considerable success since its founding by the chiefs of an Amorite tribe in the early second millennium BC, after the fall of the 3rd dynasty of Ur (2002 BC). The last king of Larsa, Rim-Sin, who conquered Uruk, annexed the kingdom of Isin (1794 BC), thus reconstituting Sumer’s political unity. Hammurabi, after raiding Isin and Uruk in 1784 BC, realized that he did not have sufficient military might to win a decisive victory over Rim-Sin. He therefore bided his time for twenty years.

To the northeast, the Diyala River valley linking the Mesopotamian plain to the Iranian plateau with its raw materials represented the backbone of the kingdom of Eshnunna, which underwent considerable expansion in the twentieth and nineteenth centuries BC.

To the northwest, Northern Mesopotamia had been unified by Shamshi-Adad, originally from Agade (Akkad). He headed up the Tigris valley, settled at Ekallatum, then annexed Ashur (1807 BC) and the entire area of the Khabur triangle. He then moved to Shekhna, which he renamed Shubat-Enlil (Tell Leilan), and wound up conquering the middle-Euphrates kingdom of Mari (circa 1792 BC).

Beyond these three neighbors, other major Near-Eastern powers—in western Syria and Iran—would also play a significant role in Babylon’s fate.

During the first eighteen years of his reign, Hammurabi governed the Babylonia he inherited from his father. At the death of Shamshi-Adad in 1775 BC, the kingdoms he had annexed recovered their independence. Zimri-Lim moved into Mari. At first, Eshnunna was the main beneficiary of the collapse of Shamshi-Adad’s empire. It king displayed a desire for domination that, after a few years, convinced the powerful emperor of Elam to invade Mesopotamia. The kings of Mari and Babylon came to his aid, only too happy to see the fall of their troublesome neighbor; Eshnunna fell in 1765 BC. But the Elamite emperor’s brutality made Hammurabi decide to change sides and, with the support of the kings of Mari and Aleppo, to oppose the emperor.

Hammurabi then attacked the king of Larsa, Rim-Sin. The kingdom of Babylon annexed Larsa and became the biggest power in the region. Hammurabi forced local kings in the Jebel Sinjar region to submit, then won a decisive victory over the king of Eshnunna in 1760 BC. The following year, Babylonian troops invaded the kingdom of Mari; after several months of occupation the palace, already emptied of its treasures, was put to the torch and the city was abandoned (1757 BC).

At that point, the Near East was divided into two zones of influence: Aleppo to the west and Babylon to the east. Hammurabi extended his zone of influence northward—the prologue to his Code claims that he controlled Nineveh and Ashur. At his death in 1750 BC, Hammurabi bequeathed his son Samsu-iluna a vast kingdom extending from the Gulf to the Middle Euphrates and the Middle Tigris. Samsu-iluna’s descendents more or less managed to maintain control of the valley of the Middle Euphrates as far as Terqa, but a shrinking territory and chronic problems of water supply weakened the kingdom’s economy. The Kassites, mercenaries originally from the Zagros Mountains, assumed growing importance in the army and wound up seizing the throne after a raid by the Hittite king Mursilis I put an end to the reign of Samsu-ditana shortly after 1600 BC.

Right from the start of his reign, Hammurabi was greatly concerned to embellish and furnish the various temples in Babylon, filling them with thrones, divine and royal statues, emblems, and processional chariots of precious metals and stones.

It is probable that the ziggurat—the terraced tower of the temple of Marduk in Babylon—existed in the days of Hammurabi, because there was another one associated with the temple of the sun at Sippar and other Babylonian cities. There is perhaps even an indirect allusion to it in the Code (Epilogue rev. XXIV, 67–69): “Babylon, the city whose turrets Anu[m] and Enlil raised; in Esagila, the temple whose foundations are firm as heaven and earth.” Esagila was the temple of Marduk—a reference to foundations as firm as heaven and earth may allude to another great part of Marduk’s sanctuary, the ziggurat, whose name Etemenanki means “house that is the foundation of heaven and earth.”

Hammurabi carried out major construction outside his capital. Canals and city walls were built, and the major Babylonian temples were restored, notably at Sippar where Hammurabi liked to dwell and consult the oracles of Shamash.

In the thirty-fourth year of his reign, Hammurabi’s son Samsu-iluna (r. 1749–1712 BC) built a new imperial palace whose exact location is not known. Nor is it known if he erected a new building or renovated and extended the royal palace of his ancestors. The old palace must have become too small and was probably used as an administrative center.

The walls of Babylon are mentioned for the first time during the reign of Ammi-ditana (1683–1647 BC). They were not merely placed under divine protection but were even deified, which reinforced their protective role. They were given an old name for Marduk, Asalluhe, which was uttered as a curse designed to terrify any enemy who envisaged destroying them. It may be that Babylon’s walls had nearly reached the layout that we know existed in the late second millennium BC and the Neo-Babylonian period. Ammi-ditana also erected a new palace, unless he merely rebuilt the palace mentioned by Samsu-iluna. Great intellectual activity developed in Babylon—several major texts of Mesopotamian literature are known from tablets written during his reign, including a hymn to Ishtar. Samsu-ditana (1625–1595 BC), the last king of Babylon’s first dynasty, reigned over a shrinking kingdom that collapsed at the end of his reign, during which there is no mention of any construction work.

Lorsque Hammurabi devient roi en 1792, Babylone est une puissance moyenne entourée par trois ensembles politiques plus forts qu'elle: les royaumes de Larsa, d'Eshnunna et de Haute Mésopotamie.
Au sud-est s'étend le royaume de Larsa, qui a connu une fortune considérable depuis sa création par les chefs d'une tribu amorrite au début du deuxième millénaire, après la chute de la IIIe dynastie d'Ur (- 2002). Le dernier roi de Larsa, Rim-Sin, vainqueur d'Uruk, a annexé le royaume d'Isin (- 1794), reconstituant ainsi l'unité politique de Sumer. Hammurabi, après un raid sur Isin et Uruk en 1784, comprend qu'il n’a pas la puissance militaire suffisante pour remporter un succès décisif sur Rim-Sin : il attendit vingt ans.
Au nord-est, la vallée de la Diyala, trait d'union entre la plaine mésopotamienne et le plateau iranien riche en matières premières, constitue la colonne vertébrale du royaume d'Eshnunna qui connut une expansion considérable aux XXe et XIXe siècles.
Au nord-ouest, la Haute-Mésopotamie a été unifiée par Samsi-Addu, originaire d'Agadé (Akkad) ; il remonte la vallée du Tigre, s'installe à Ekallatum, puis annexe Assur (- 1807) et toute la région du triangle du Habur. Il s'établit alors à Shehna, qu'il renomma Shubat-Enlil (Tell Leilan) et finit par conquérir le royaume de Mari sur le Moyen-Euphrate (vers - 1792).
Au-delà de ces trois voisins, d'autres puissances considérables occupent le Proche-Orient et jouent un rôle non négligable dans le destin de Babylone, la Syrie occidentale et l'Iran.
Pendant les dix-huit premières années de son règne, Hammurabi gère la Babylonie héritée de son père. A la mort de Samsi-Addu en 1775, les royaumes qu'il avait annexés reprirent leur indépendance. Zimri-Lim s'installe à Mari. Dans un premier temps, le principal bénéficiaire du démembrement de l'empire de Samsi-Addu fut Eshnunna. Son roi manifesta sa volonté de domination au point que le puissant empereur d'Elam décida au bout de quelques années d'envahir la Mésopotamie. Les rois de Mari et de Babylone lui prêtèrent main-forte, trop heureux de contribuer à la chute de leur remuant voisin : Eshnunna tombe en 1765. Mais la brutalité de l'empereur élamite convainc Hammurabi de faire volte-face en s'opposant à lui avec le soutien des rois de Mari et d'Alep.
Hammurabi s’oppose alors au roi de Larsa, Rim-Sin. Le royaume de Babylone annexe le royaume de Larsa et devient la plus grande puissance de la région. Hammurabi force les rois locaux de la région du Djebel Sindjar à se soumettre, puis il obtient une victoire décisive sur le roi d'Eshnunna (- 1760). L'année suivante, les troupes babyloniennes envahissent le royaume de Mari : après quelque mois d'occupation, le palais, vidé de ses trésors, fut livré aux flammes et la ville abandonnée (- 1757).
Dès lors, le Proche-Orient est divisé en deux zones d'influence: Alep à l'ouest et Babylone à l'est. Hammurabi agrandit sa zone d'influence vers le nord ; dans le prologue de son Code il dit contrôler Ninive et Assur. A sa mort en 1750, il légue à son fils Samsu-iluna un immense royaume, qui s'étend du Golfe au Moyen-Euphrate et au Moyen-Tigre. Les descendants de Samsu-iluna réussissent à garder plus ou moins le contrôle de la vallée du Moyen Euphrate jusqu'à Terqa, mais la diminution de leur territoire et des problèmes chroniques d'alimentation en eau rendent l'économie du royaume très précaire. Des mercenaires originaires du Zagros, les Kassites, prennent de l'importance dans l'armée et ils finissent par occuper le trône après un raid du roi hittite Mursili Ier qui mis fin au règne de Samsu-ditana peu après 1600.

Dès le début de son règne, Hammurabi prend grand soin à embellir et à meubler les différents temples de Babylone pour lesquels il fait fabriquer des trônes, des statues divines et royales, des emblèmes et chars de procession en métaux et pierres précieuses.
Il est probable que la ziggurat – la tour à étages du sanctuaire de Marduk à Babylone - ait existé au temps de Hammurabi, puisqu’il y en avait une associée au sanctuaire du Soleil à Sippar et dans d’autres villes de Babylonie. Nous en avons peut-être une mention indirecte dans le “ code ” (Epilogue rev. XXIV, 67-69) : “ Babylone, la ville dont Anu(m) et Enlil ont haussé la tête, dans l’Esagil, le temple dont les fondements sont aussi solides que ceux du ciel et de la terre ”. Esagil est le temple de Marduk ; la mention des fondements aussi solides que ceux du ciel et de la terre, peut faire allusion à l’autre grand monument du sanctuaire de Marduk, la ziggurat, dont le nom Etemenanki signifie “ maison qui est le fondement du ciel et de la terre ”.
Hammurabi exécute de grands travaux en dehors de la capitale : canaux ou murailles de villes et restauration des temples principaux de Babylonie, notamment à Sippar où il aime résider et prendre les oracles de Shamash.

En l’an 34, le fils de Hammurabi, Samsu-iluna (1749-1712)  construit un nouveau palais impérial sans que l’on sache exactement ni son emplacement ni s’il s’agit d’une construction nouvelle ou d’un réaménagement et agrandissement du palais royal de ses ancêtres. L’ancien palais devait être devenu trop petit et servait sans doute de centre administratif.
C’est sous le règne d’Ammi-ditana (1683-1647) qu’est mentionné pour la première fois le mur de Babylone. Les murs d'enceinte étaient placés sous protection divine et même divinisés pour rendre leur protection plus efficace. Celui-là porte un nom ancien de Marduk, Asalluhi. Ce nom est formulé comme une malédiction, dans le but de terrifier l’ennemi qui envisagerait de le détruire. Il se peut que le mur de Babylone ait alors presque atteint le tracé que nous connaissons pour la fin du IIe millénaire et l’époque néo-babylonienne. Ammi-ditana se construisit également un nouveau palais - à moins qu’il ne s’agisse d’une reconstruction du palais mentionné par Samsu-iluna. Il développa une grande activité intellectuelle à Babylone. Plusieurs compositions majeures de la littérature mésopotamienne sont connues par des tablettes écrites sous son règne, dont un hymne à Ishtar. Samsu-ditana (1625-1595), le dernier roi de la première dynastie de Babylone régna sur un royaume restreint qui allait s’écrouler à la fin de son règne ; on ne mentionne aucune construction au cours de son règne.