Despite the absence of significant archaeological traces, Babylon’s power to fascinate never waned in the modern era: literature, the visual arts, architecture, theater, music, and the movies were full of towers of Babel, hanging gardens, and feasts of Belshazzar from the sixteenth century up to the early twentieth.

Babylon–Rome during the Reformation

The ambivalence of the Babylon legend, caught between a very real ancient city and a symbolic one, inevitably appealed to people of the Renaissance. Around 1500, everything seemed to indicate that the Apocalypse was approaching: the moment when, according to John the Evangelist, the ultimate battle would take place between God and the forces of Evil. Indeed, scarcity, famine, plague, epidemics and revolts were rife; the Great Schism in the Church left lasting scars; the Turks advanced threateningly from the east; natural events such as the appearance of comets added further worry. In the clash between Good and Evil that was supposed to precede one thousand years of bliss, the Great Whore of Babylon, allied to the anti-Christ, was expected to play a major role by seducing whole nations. In his famous engraving of 1498, Albrecht Dürer lent her the features of a Venetian courtesan that he had painted several years earlier.

In the first half of the sixteenth century, Protestants symbolically associated the wicked city described in John’s Book of Revelation with the Church, to an extreme degree. Like Biblical Babylon, papal Rome was a cosmic center, simultaneously city and institution; like Babylon, Rome mingled temporal and spiritual power; like Babylon, it was built around a “grandiose construction project” (the new Saint Peter’s Basilica, partly financed through the sale of indulgences). Reinforced by the sack of Rome in 1527, the assimilation of its fall with that of Babylon—as divine punishment—would remain one of the great themes of the war of images fought between Protestants and Catholics, as demonstrated by countless engravings.


Babel-Babylon, superbia versus the glorification of legendary architecture

Right from the middle ages, the myth of Babylon merged with that of Babel. According to Genesis, after the Flood men settled in the land of Shinar and began to erect a building designed to reach the heavens. God punished their pride by instituting a multiplicity of languages. Babel therefore became the locus of a world of chaos, confusion, dispersion. In the mid sixteenth century, the fate of the tower was inevitably associated, in part, with the fate of the Old Testament’s cursed city: an etching by the Amsterdam artist Cornelis Anthonisz shows the destruction of the tower (which also evokes Rome’s Coliseum) through the action of celestial fire.

The idea of the dispersion of nations due to the plethora of languages also became associated with religious schism, with the translation of the Bible into common languages, and with the rise of nations that announced the end of a Christendom united in Rome. This might partly explain the vogue for depictions of the tower in the Low Countries, especially between 1550 and 1570, when they were undergoing violent political-religious conflicts (notably the Tower of Babel by Bruegel now in the Boijmans van Beuningen Museum, Rotterdam).
The tale of the tower retained moral connotations in a humanist environment. For artists and patrons steeped in Biblical readings, it represented the expression of superbia, the deadly sin of pride. By placing self-love at the center of everything, this vice represented an attack on the divine order, as did the monstrous construction of Babel.

In contrast, the Renaissance also used the legend of Babylon-Babel to glorify the heroic conquest of man over nature. That was because this myth entailed the fusion of two sometimes antithetical traditions: the negative one of the Bible and the positive one of classical authors, starting with Herodotus. The tradition of the Wonders of the Ancient World was revived; Babylon enjoyed an honorable place with its hanging gardens and impressive walls. Several engraved series were published and became well-known, including: Philippe Galle’s engravings based on drawings by Martin van Heemskerck (1572); the Septem Orbis Admiranda after drawings by Antonio Tempesta (1608); and Admiranda et Prodigiosa Antiquitates Opera after Maertin de Vos (1614) and various commentaries based on ancient sources. Indeed Rome, in seeking to assert herself as the eighth wonder of the world, re-established a link with historic Babylon.


The 17th and 18 centuries

In the modern era, these “wonders” were celebrated for their technical and aesthetic qualities. The gigantic walls of the Mesopotamian capital were therefore perceived as a spectacular example of the use of brick as a building material while the hanging gardens were a model of the integration of architecture, nature, and hydraulic engineering.

Until the seventeenth century, however, scholars had difficulty in studying the fate of Babylon due to the almost total inexistence of archaeological data.

A book published by the Jesuit priest Athanasius Kircher in Amsterdam in 1679, Turris Babel, provided the first synthesis of all travelers’ accounts and traditions. Kircher was the first to take a dialectical approach when offering a rational explanation of the Bible. With his encyclopedic mind, and relying on the most recent scientific discoveries, Kircher interpreted the history of the tower as the story of a grandiose project whose scale led to its undoing: the terrific weight of the building would have led to a cosmic catastrophe by shifting the earth from the center of the universe. God’s introduction of a plethora of languages, then, was not designed to punish humanity but to protect it from its own heedlessness. Kircher’s version proved truly modern—following Herodotus’s description, he proposed an original yet plausible reconstruction of the site.

Yet depictions still basically rested on the interpretation of ancient or sacred texts; it was not until the late eighteenth century that the first physical vestiges arrived in the West.


Art versus archaeology: 19th-century depictions of Babylon

Unlike sites in Assyria such as Khorsabad, excavated as early as 1842 by the French consul, Paul-Emile Botta, Babylon had to wait until the very end of the century for material vestiges to render up a more exact idea of its historical and physical reality, thanks to a German team led by Robert Koldewey, assisted by Walter Andrae. Yet expeditions had been seeking physical traces of Babylonian civilization ever since the late eighteenth century. In particular, starting in 1811 British explorer Claudius James Rich began writing up a description of the site of Babylon that would be published in English in 1815 (and translated into French by 1818). This book was a primary source for artists who, like John Martin, wanted to depict Biblical scenes; another source was an illustrated edition of Sir Robert Ker Porter’s Travels in Georgia, Persia, Armenia, Ancient Babylon during the Years 1817, 1818, 1819 and 1820 (published in London in 1821 and 1822).

In the absence of sufficient remains, Babylonian subjects were handled by painters and set designers in terms of archaeological discoveries made in Egypt and Persia between 1780 and 1830, and then in Assyria from the 1840s onward. In 1824, a performance of Rossini’s Semiramis at La Scala in Milan was still set in an Egyptian palace. But with the discovery of Khorsabad and the arrival of Assyrian artifacts in Paris and London, local color could no longer be conveyed by Egyptian or Persian references. “Egyptomania” was thus superseded by “Assyriomania,” as testified by a painting by Georges Rochegrosse, The Fall of Babylon, even though it failed to deliver a picture of the real Babylon. The myth still prevailed.

Starting in the 1820s, British artist John Martin, who illustrated the Bible, imitated Turner in making a specialty of depicting Biblical catastrophes and the last days of ancient cities. He wanted to give his pictures a certain archaeological rigor that reflected recent publications such as Rich’s. In his paintings of The Fall of Babylon (1819) and Belshazzar’s Feast (1820), as well as in his engravings of The Fall of Babylon and The Destruction of Babel, Martin revived neoclassical composition by allotting a crucial role to lavish—but hopefully historical accurate—architecture. Orientalism thereby came to the rescue of the imagination. What is more, in London Martin’s archaeological fantasies led to actual buildings and urban development projects labeled “Babylonian”: they employed the massive scale and basic shapes associated with primitivism. If Martin depicted glamorous ancient cities at the height of their degree of civilization, it was designed to intensify the moment of their fall all the more. The tension between the destruction and (re)construction of Babylon thus surfaced once again.

In the Romantic era, allusions to Babylon were used as a metaphor for the modern metropolis sapped by the demons of vice, corruption, and the side-by-side coexistence of luxury and poverty. The Biblical tradition of the wicked city thus reappeared in a modern, secular form.


D.W. Griffith’s Intolerance: Babylon finally resurrected

In 1916, D.W. Griffith made one of the greatest masterpieces in the history of the movies: Intolerance. The film does not follow a linear narrative structure, but interweaves four separate stories that illustrate the effect of intolerance throughout the ages. Parallel to scenes of the final days of Christ, of the Saint-Bartholomew’s massacre, and of a modern story in which a young man is unjustly sentenced to hang, a Babylonian sequence portrays Belshazzar’s feast and the capture of the city by Cyrus due to betrayal by the priests of Bel. Intolerance was the most expensive film ever made at the time. Fully one-third of the budget was swallowed up by the Babylonian episode, for which Griffith recreated the city walls, the throne room, terraces fifteen meters or fifty feet high, and larger-than-life stone elephants. Yet Intolerance, whose pacifist message was ill-timed just prior to America’s entry into World War One and whose amazing formal modernism could be unsettling, was a flop.

Through non-sequential editing, Griffith reinserted Babylon into a historical discourse stressing the endless series of empires that rise and fall, the recurring catastrophes that give way to new births. And yet the movie’s happy ending, in which the convict is saved by technological progress (a train ride allows a young woman to arrive at the site of execution at the last minute), plus the leitmotif of a mother rocking a child, add an intermittent note of hope to the eternal cycle of civilizations destined to be destroyed and reborn. If history no longer means the reign of intolerance, then Babylon will not have fallen in vain.

Malgré l’absence de traces archéologiques d’importance, jamais, à l’époque moderne, le pouvoir de fascination de Babylone ne faiblit : dans la littérature, dans les arts visuels, en architecture, au théâtre, en musique, au cinéma, entre le XVIe siècle et le début du XXe siècle, on ne compte plus les Tours de Babel, les jardins suspendus et autres Festins de Balthasar

Babylone-Rome au temps de la Réforme
L’ambivalence du mythe de Babylone, pris entre une ville antique bien réelle et une cité symbolique, ne pouvait que séduire les hommes de la Renaissance. Autour de 1500, tout laissait penser que le temps de l’Apocalypse approchait, ce temps qui, selon saint Jean, devait voir l’ultime bataille de Dieu contre les forces du Mal. En effet, les disettes, les famines, la peste et les épidémies, les révoltes n’avaient pas disparu, le Grand Schisme avait laissé des traces durables, les Turcs menaçaient et avançaient à l’est, des événements naturels comme le passage de comètes inquiétaient. Dans cet affrontement du Bien et du Mal, qui devait précéder mille ans de bonheur, la Grande Prostituée de Babylone, alliée à l’Antéchrist, était appelée à jouer un rôle majeur en séduisant les nations. Dürer, dans sa fameuse gravure de 1498, lui attribue les traits d’une courtisane vénitienne, qu’il avait peinte quelques années plus tôt .
Dans la première moitié du XVIe siècle, les Protestants portèrent à son paroxysme l’association de la symbolique ville maudite de L’Apocalypse avec l’Eglise Comme la Babylone biblique, la Rome pontificale se veut centre cosmique, à la fois ville et institution . Comme elle, Rome mêle pouvoir temporel et pouvoir spirituel ; comme elle, elle est édifiée autour d ‘un chantier démesuré (le nouveau Saint Pierre, en partie financé par les « indulgences »). Renforcée par le sac de la ville en 1527, l’assimilation de la chute de Rome à celle de Babylone, comme punition divine, demeura l’un des grands thèmes de la guerre d’images que se livraient Protestants et catholiques. De nombreuses gravures le rappellent.

Babylone-Babel entre superbia et exaltation d’une architecture mythique
Dès le Moyen Age, le mythe de Babylone se mêla à celui de Babel. Dans la Genèse, après le Déluge, les hommes se fixent dans le pays de Shinéar et commencent à édifier un bâtiment destiné à atteindre les cieux. Dieu punit leur orgueil en instituant la diversité des langues. Babel devient alors le centre du monde du chaos, de la confusion et de la dispersion. Au milieu du XVIe siècle, le destin de la Tour ne pouvait encore que se confondre en partie avec celui, de la ville maudite de l’Ancien Testament. Une eau-forte de l’artiste amstellodamois Cornelis Anthonisz en rend compte : elle représente la destruction de la tour (qui évoque Colisée) sous l’effet du feu du ciel.
L’idée de la dispersion des peuples à la suite de la confusion des langues devait évoquer le schisme religieux, la traduction de la Bible en langue vulgaire et l’affirmation de nations qui annonçaient la fin d’une Chrétienté unie autour Rome. La vogue, entre 1550 et 1570 surtout, des représentations de la tour de Babel dans les provinces du nord, notamment la Tour de Bruegel (musée Boymans van Beuningen) traversées alors de violents conflits politico-religeux , s’expliquerait en partie ainsi.
Dans le climat de l’humanisme, l’épisode de la Tour a encore une connotation morale. Pour des artistes et des commanditaires imprégnés de lectures bibliques, il est l’expression de la Superbia, le principal péché capital ; en plaçant au centre de tout l’amour de soi, ce vice porte en effet atteinte à l’ordre divin, tout comme le chantier monstrueux de Babel.
La Renaissance a, à l’inverse, aussi utilisé le mythe de Babylone-Babel pour exalter l’héroïque conquête de l’homme sur la nature. C’est que ce mythe impliquait la fusion de deux traditions parfois antithétique : celle, plus négative, de la Bible et celle, plus positive, héritée des auteurs classiques, Hérodote en premier lieu. La tradition des « Merveilles du monde », héritée de la culture hellénistique fut réactivée. Babylone y tenait une place de choix avec ses jardins suspendus et ses impressionnantes murailles. Plusieurs suites furent gravées, dont les plus célèbres furent celle réalisée par Philippe Galle d’après des dessins de Martin van Heemskerck en 1572, les Septem Orbis Admiranda d’après Antonio Tempesta en 1608 et les Admiranda et Prodigiosa Antiquitates opera, d’après Martin de Vos en 1614 et de nombreux commentaires s’appuyant sur les sources antiques publiés. Rome, en cherchant à s’affirmer comme la huitième merveille du monde renouait le lien avec la Babylone historique.

Les XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles
A l’époque moderne, ces fameuses « merveilles » furent célébrées pour leurs qualités techniques et pour leurs qualités esthétiques. Les gigantesques murailles de la capitale mésopotamienne apparurent ainsi comme un spectaculaire exemple des possibilités de la brique comme matériau de construction et les jardins suspendus comme un modèle d’intégration de la nature et de l’architecture et d’ingénierie hydraulique.
Jusqu’au XVIIe siècle, cependant, la difficulté pour les érudits désireux d’explorer le destin de Babylone résidait dans la quasi-inexistence des données archéologiques.
L’ouvrage du père jésuite Athanasius Kircher, Turris Babel, paru à Amsterdam en 1679, offrit la première synthèse de toutes les traditions et des récits de voyageurs. Il réussit, le premier, à penser la dialectique dans une tentative pour offrir une explication rationnelle de la Bible. Esprit encyclopédique, fort des découvertes scientifiques les plus récentes, Kircher proposa son interprétation de l’histoire de la Tour., en montrant que l’entreprise, dans sa démesure, conduisait à une impasse.  Le poids formidable du monument aurait conduit à une catastrophe cosmique en déplaçant la planète du centre de l’univers. En introduisant la confusion des langues, Dieu ne punissait donc pas les hommes, mais les protégeait de leur propre inconséquence. La reconstitution proposée par Kircher se révèle réellement moderne : suivant la description d’Hérodote, il propose une reconstitution plausible et inédite au site.

Cependant les représentations reposant essentiellement sur des interprétations de textes antiques ou sacrés, il fallut attendre la fin du XVIIIe siècle pour voir les premiers vestiges arriver en Occident.

L’art confronté à l’archéologie : les représentations de Babylone au XIXe siècle.
A la différence des sites d’Assyrie, comme Khorsabad, fouillé dès 1842 par le consul Paul-Emile Botta, Babylone dut attendre, à l’extrême fin du siècle, l’expédition allemande menée par Robert Koldewey aidé de Walter Andrae, pour que des traces matérielles donnent une idée plus exacte de sa réalité historique et physique. Depuis la fin du XVIIIe siècle, cependant, des explorations partirent à la recherche de traces matérielles de la civilisation babylonienne. Surtout à partir de 1811, le Britannique Claudius James Rich entreprit une description des fouilles de Babylone qui donna lieu à une publication en anglais en 1815, traduite en français dès 1818. Ce livre constitua une source essentielle d’inspiration pour les artistes désireux, comme John Martin, de représenter des épisodes bibliques. Tout comme le livre illustré de Sir Robert Ker Porter, Travels in Georgia, Persia, Armenia, Ancient Babylon during the Years 1817, 1818, 1819 and 1820, paru à Londres en 1821 et 1822,
En l’absence de vestiges suffisants, les sujets babyloniens furent donc traités par les peintres et les décorateurs de théâtre, en fonction des découvertes archéologiques, à la mode égyptienne et perse dans les années 1780-1830, puis assyrienne à partir des années 1840. En 1824, la représentation de la Sémiramis de Rossini à la Scala de Milan se donnait encore dans le cadre d’un palais égyptien. Avec la découverte de Khorsabad et l’arrivée à Paris et à Londres des objets assyriens, la couleur locale ne pouvait plus se satisfaire d’une référence à l’Egypte ou à la Perse. L’assyriomanie » prit le relais de « l’égyptomanie », comme en témoigne le tableau de Georges Rochegrosse, La Chute de Babylone mais l’image de la vraie Babylone faisait toujours défaut. Le mythe se révélait toujours plus vivace.

A partir des années 1820, le britannique John Martin, illustrateur de la Bible, se fit, à la suite Turner, une spécialité de la représentation des derniers jours des villes antiques et des catastrophes bibliques. Il chercha à donner à ses représentations une certaine rigueur archéologique qui tenait compte des publications les plus récentes comme celle de Rich.
Dans ses peintures La Chute de Babylone, peinte en 1819 et Le Festin de Balthazar en 1820, mais aussi dans ses gravures La Chute de Babylone et La Destruction de Babel, Martin renouvelle la composition néoclassique en accordant une place primordiale à une architecture opulente, mais qui se voulait historiquement exacte. L’orientalisme venait au secours de l’imagination. Bien plus, le fantastique archéologique de Martin déboucha, à Londres, sur des constructions bien réelles et des projets d’aménagements urbains qualifiés eux aussi de « babylonian » ; ils reprenaient la typologie massive et usant de formes primaires, associées au primitivisme. Si Martin restitue les prestigieuses villes antiques au sommet de leur degré de civilisation, c’est pour mieux exalter le moment de leur chute. On voit alors réapparaître la tension destruction-(re)construction qui traverse le mythe de Babylone.
A l’époque romantique, l’allusion à Babylone fut utilisée comme métaphore pour désigner la métropole moderne, rongée par ses démons : la coexistence du luxe et de la misère, ses vices et sa corruption. La tradition biblique de la ville maudite réapparut sous une forme moderne et laïcisée.

Intolérance de D.W. Griffith : Babylone enfin ressuscitée
En 1916, D. W. Griffith présentait l’un des plus grands chefs-d’œuvre de l’histoire du cinéma : Intolérance. Le film ne repose pas sur une structure narrative linéaire, mais sur l’entremêlement de quatre histoires illustrant les effets de l’intolérance à travers les âges. Parallèlement aux derniers moments du Christ, au massacre de la Saint-Barthélémy et à une narration moderne, où un jeune ouvrier est injustement condamné à être pendu, l’épisode babylonien relate le festin de Balthasar et la prise de la ville par Cyrus, en raison de la trahison des prêtres de Bel. Le film fut, en son temps, le plus coûteux jamais réalisé. L’épisode babylonien, où Griffith reconstitua les murailles de la ville, une salle du trône, des terrasses de 15 mètres de haut, des éléphants de pierre plus grands que nature, engloutit plus du tiers du budget total. Le film, dont les allusions pacifistes se révélaient mal venues juste avant l’entrée en guerre des Etats-Unis et dont l’extraordinaire modernité formelle pouvait dérouter, fut un échec.
Griffith, par un montage discontinu, réinsère Babylone dans un discours sur l’histoire comme un empilement d’empires, qui croissent et déclinent, comme une suite de catastrophes auxquelles succèdent des nouvelles naissances. Pourtant, le happy end, où le condamné est sauvé par le progrès (le train qui permet à la jeune fille d’arriver in extremis sur le lieu de l’exécution) et le leitmotiv d’une mère berçant un enfant, interrompent, par une note d’espoir, l’éternel cycle des civilisations appelée à être détruites et renaître. Si l’histoire pouvait ne plus être le règne de l’intolérance, Babylone, alors, ne serait pas tombée pour rien.